Description

About Us

The TEFL Academy is the UK’s leading TEFL course provider.  Their courses are designed to effectively teach their students the fundamental skills to enable them to be successful at teaching English as a foreign language (TEFL).  There are many TEFL course providers operating throughout the world.  With so much choice, and with such a vast amount of conflicting information available on the internet, it can be hard for prospective TEFL course students to make the right choice.

The TEFL Academy's Level 5 TEFL course (168 hours) aims to provide students with accurate information, skills and training to ensure they leave the academy with a sound understanding of teaching English, as well as a clearer picture of the TEFL industry as a whole.

The TEFL Academy has some of the UK’s leading EFL professionals working with us to provide the best TEFL courses available in the UK.

There are many TEFL course providers operating in the UK.  With so much choice, and with such a vast amount of conflicting information available on the Internet, it can be hard for prospective TEFL course students to make the right choice.

The TEFL Academy specialises in TEFL courses and nothing else.  TEFL is not only in our name, but it is also the backbone of our academy.  All of our trainers are experienced EFL professionals.  They have all qualified as TEFL teachers themselves, gained years of actual teaching experience and are now passing on their working knowledge to our TEFL course students.

The TEFL Academy is fully accredited by TQUK, an Ofqual (The Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation, a UK government department) regulated awarding body.  TQUK have robust quality assurance systems and procedures in place which all course providers must successfully pass in order to be accredited under the scheme.

Potential TEFL course students should remember that their prospective employers are likely to be based outside the UK. This means that accreditation bodies based solely in the UK may not be recognised by employers abroad.  This is why The TEFL Academy has chosen TQUK, as they offer international accreditation for training course providers.

The TEFL Academy's combined TEFL courses are held in locations throughout the UK. To find your nearest local course and find out course dates please click here.

If you would like to find out further information about The TEFL Academy then please do not hesitate to contact us.

 

Company Details
Main Office | Course Location

28 Pembroke Upper Dublin Southside Dublin Ireland 7

Course Type(s)
  • Combined TEFL Courses, Online TEFL Courses
  • Just Text What's Up
Course Length(s)
  • Standard (120-140 hours)
Certificate Type(s)
  • TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Additional Feature(s)
  • TEFL Internships
  • ROBYN MELNICK
    July 1, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I can honestly say the TEFL Academy’s Level 5 TEFL Course (168 hrs) was one of the best career moves I made. There is a plethora of online courses available, but the pre-course web content and the cost of the course, along with the classroom time was a perfect combination for signing up.
    As someone with a full-time job, changing career, I was only able to do serious course work on the weekends, and found the time allocation more than sufficient to get through the work and do revision in some areas.
    I started with the classroom sessions and found that having the opportunity to practice brand new skills on peers was both intimidating and hugely rewarding. One cannot fail to be nervous to stand in front of a group of adults and try to teach them an English skill they ‘don’t know’. However, having the immediate feedback from the course instructor provided valuable insight into how one needs to be in a classroom. I think anyone trying to complete a course without classroom time should give this aspect of the course serious consideration.
    The online part of the course is very well set out, and guides one along a clearly-defined learning path. There are micro-tests every so often, and each unit culminates in a test before you move on. There is plenty of additional study, i.e. links to external content, all of which is relevant, and often leads one to find many other items of interest and education along the way. It is well-worth clicking every one of those links to increase your knowledge and discovery of the TEFL world.
    The assignments are certainly not easy, compared to the end of unit tests. If you want to produce your very best work, consider at least double the time indicated in the course for assignment completion. They test your application of knowledge and require a fair bit of research to complete. However, once you’ve put the first assignment together, the sense of satisfaction is fantastic!
    Lastly – the online support from the TEFL Academy was excellent. There were no delays to queries submitted, instructors went out of their way with assistance – especially the grammar sections – and post course feedback and certification was swift and efficient.
    I highly recommend this course. It’s a gateway to change your life.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Agnieszka
    June 29, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I have completed 168 hours TEFL level 5 course with TEFL Academy. I did learn a lot and I must admit I have found the assignments challenging enough which is good as I had to research and really focus on preparing them, hence I was able to really feel how much work a new teacher would need to place in lesson preparation etc but on the other hand I have gained a confidence that I am able to do it too! The tutors feedback were great and helpful, clearly pointing the areas for improvement.
    I did enjoy studying and I really look forward to finding a job as EFL teacher.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sedick
    June 28, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I completed my 168 hour course within 4 months of starting the course. I worked while doing the course so it was exciting. The face to face part was done before I started the online course and it gave me insight and a good overview about the course and how the course is structured. Overall I enjoyed the course and it was a good learning experience.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Daniel Boraine
    June 27, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I completed the 120 TEFL course over the course of 5 months while I completed my university undergrad degree. I did the face to face session first, which provided a truly engaging and enjoyable learning environment. My teacher was excellent. Nothing can really prepare one fully for the experience of teaching but the practical component of this course really did get me as close as possible. I also felt doing the practical component benefitted me as I was more able to do the online component. Some of this part felt a little overly repetitive, but I suppose those parts that are repeated are the important ones. I got a teaching job in Vietnam with no difficulty shortly after I started looking.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Claire Hyde
    June 27, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I have recently completed the 120 hr course with distinction and would recommend the TEFL Academy to anyone looking at gaining their TEFL accreditation. Why?
    The learning materials were well written, going into lots of detail.
    The quality of the tutor support was good – I raised an online ticket to clarify my understanding on one of the grammar modules, and also for some clarification of the task on the final assessments, and these were picked up and answered in a matter of hours. The two final assessments were challenging, but provided a really useful insight into lesson planning and creating your own teaching activities.
    I found the weekend classroom methods teaching course invaluable, and a lot of fun.
    The customer service was great too: I needed to extend my course as I had been unable to complete within 6 months and working full time. This was no problem, and I was able to do so without any issue, just paying a further £50 to do so. When the 168 hr level 5 course was launched, the team also offered me an upgrade for £50 on my enquiry – sadly this meant I would need to start from scratch and after some tough decision making, decided that the time isn’t right for me at the moment.
    Overall, the TEFL Academy course offers high quality teaching, support, and I am pleased, this was great value for money.
    The only thing I would like to see is an ability to keep the teaching notes as a pdf or hard copy (unfortunately this isn’t available) – so I have written a ton of notes, but I would have paid a small extra fee for this.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Darren Woon
    June 25, 2018 at 12:00 am

    My initial concern, being in full-time employment, was that I wouldn’t find time sufficient enough to complete a course; however, owing to its entirety being online, The TEFL Academy’s course was perfect for somebody in a position such as myself.
    The interactive modules are easy to follow and incredibly informative. I’m a native English speaker, and not only did I learn a huge amount about teaching English as a foreign language, but I also picked up a few rules about the grammar that I hadn’t been taught before! Truthfully, I was expecting to work my way through things that I already knew, and in all honesty this was another concern of mine; that the material would be boring and repetitive. But I was pleasantly surprised and very engaged from start to finish.
    There’s so much to take away from it. Since completing the course, my qualification has enabled me to attain a job teaching English abroad, and I don’t think it would’ve been possible without the preparation and support offered by The Academy. I’ve been teaching for a year, and I’m far more confident in my first teaching position now than I was in the beginning. When I started, it was useful to have the interactive modules I’d completed at my disposal, something of a safety net if I needed them, and this is another reason why I must commend The Academy. Even after the course, even without direct contact with anybody, I still feel supported as I aim to better myself as a learning resource for foreign students.
    If I had to find one drawback, I’d say that the response time to assignments could be improved, as I found myself waiting a little longer than the 3-5 working days stated, however the feedback I received went above and beyond my expectations, so this really is only a minor con!
    I would wholeheartedly recommend this course to anyone and everyone.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Lize Schlebusch
    June 25, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I just completed the 168 hours level 5 TEFL course through the TEFL-academy. I feel very satisfied with the course content and easy way they presented it. Help was always near if needed. Definitely a course that I will recommend if you want to be fully equipped to teach English in a foreign country.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Kenneth Murphy
    June 25, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I have recently completed the TEFL Academy Level 5 TEFL Course (168 hrs) combined classroom and online teaching. The 20 hour TEFL classroom course was an excellent introduction, very educational and encouraging. The online course was extensive, well structured and very comprehensive. Overall, I really enjoyed the experience and achieved a pass with distinction for my efforts. I would have no hesitation in recommending this course to others interested in TEFL teaching. Thanks TEFL Academy for giving me the knowledge, training and confidence in starting my new career!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jenna Ziegler
    June 24, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I have just completed the 120hour TEFL course with the 20 hours in the classroom included and I must say that this course was fantastic. I do think that enrolling in the 20hour classroom session made a huge difference with regard to my understanding of the course. The content of the course was clear and easy to understand with regard to the instructions as well as the feedback received. There is great support offered and at no point did I feel ‘lost’ or confused in terms of what was required of me to do. The classroom time was very important and super helpful as it allowed us as the students to ask necessary questions as well as to get hands on practice as if we were teaching. I would highly recommend the TEFL Academy to anyone looking to teach English ! Thanks for everything !

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • William Bright
    June 24, 2018 at 12:00 am

    The Level Five TEFL course I enrolled in comprised of two elements: a weekend in Newcastle and an 168-hour online course. I was very impressed with the online course for its detail and accessibility for somebody like myself who was completely new to TEFL. The three assessments very all suitably challenging, making the online course feel very much like a worthwhile experience instead of being ‘Mickey Mouse’ like I have heard other TEFL courses to be. The feedback I received on the assessments was very thorough and precise, and made my work feel valued rather than merely getting a ‘one size fits all’ response. The weekend in Newcastle was likewise an excellent introduction to TEFL with an engaging and affable instructor. The only complaint I have about the weekend is that there was very little emphasis on practice teaching other than twenty or so minutes at the end of the day, that didn’t really give me much of a feel for authentic teaching. As the course was only two days it’s only to be expected that there wasn’t enough time to cover everything in a lot of detail, but I feel practice teaching is an important element that should have had more time allocated towards it. This complaint aside, the experience of the TEFL Academy comes highly recommended from me.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sarah Budello
    June 23, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I just completed the 120 hour on-line course and I’ve really enjoyed the whole experience. The on-line part of it has been really engaging (and that’s from an e-learning professional!). It’s comprehensive and robust – you really have to learn your stuff and pass the tests to get through to the next module. The weekend face-to-face course was brilliant, our teacher was amazing, so knowledgeable, and she taught us in the style that TEFL promotes – fun and engaging. I also won the prize for ‘acting out an English idiom’ – quite possibly my finest hour!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • AJ Walsh
    June 23, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I finished my 120 hour course and received a distinction. I loved every second of the course. Everything was laid out perfectly for the online section and everything was easy to understand. The 20 hours of in person tuition was one of the best weekends I have spent in a long time. All of the feedback from my tutor was so helpful. Guidance for moving forward, creating a cv and applying for jobs is all there too. I would highly recommend The TEFL Academy to anyone looking to become a TEFL teacher.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

Add a review