Description

TEFLPlus is Thailand’s premier TEFL teacher training program located in Patong Beach, Phuket, Thailand, and has been conducting teacher training courses at Patong Language School since 2002.

Priced from only £359 ($569), TEFLPlus offers the highest quality and best value TEFL teacher training courses in Thailand.  Train with TEFLPlus in Phuket to earn an internationally recognised TESOL/TEFL certificate and become a professional teacher of English.  Our Phuket TEFL courses and professional staff have won awards for quality and outstanding service, so you know you are in good hands.

Why should you earn your TEFL at TEFLPlus?

Learn from one of the most experienced trainers in the business.  Our head TEFL instructor has over 25 years experience as an English teacher and a TEFL trainer.  He has worked at schools and universities around the world and he has the expertise to answer all of your questions about teaching English as a foreign language.

You’ll have more time to hone your teaching skills with an industry-leading 10 hours of teaching practice. Get a full two weeks of classroom experience with real students from a variety of levels at our language school in Patong.

Experience the highest quality of services, administration and course content.  Patong Language School has been Phuket’s leading language school since 1983.  Our training centre, language programs and teachers are licensed by the Thai Ministry of Education.  We’re also the only school in Thailand to receive the highest award for quality from the MoE’s Office of the Private Education Commission (OPEC).

Be prepared for any situation you may find yourself in as a teacher. Our programs cover all aspects of modern English teaching methodology, theory and English grammar.  We’re not only a TEFL training centre, we also a language school, and you will have several opportunities to observe real classes at our school and see our methods in action.

You will always have someone available to answer your questions because we always maintain a low 3-to-1 student-teacher ratio.  All of our English teachers have completed their training at TEFLPlus.  They use our methods in their classrooms every day and they are also available to assist you during your training.

We offer two courses to meet your schedule and budget.  Take your choice of our 1 week introTEFL or our 4 week advancedTEFL programs.

In a few short years, TEFLPlus has developed to achieve local and regional prestige, offering English teacher training to those wishing to start a career in the exciting and challenging world of English language education.

If you are looking for a TEFL teacher training course in South-East Asia, you won’t find higher quality certificate courses than ours, and you definitely won’t find better value!If you plan to TEFL in Phuket, then you need to TEFL train with TEFLPlus. Nowhere else comes close.

About the Course

The Phuket TEFLplus advanced TEFL is Thailand’s premier international-standard 4-week 125-hour TESOL course leading to the TEFL/TESL certificate in English teaching.

Non-English speakers throughout the world are finding it more and more necessary to use English in their employment, studies, and daily lives. This has created a huge demand for EFL teachers across the globe, and our advancedTEFL course in Phuket, Thailand leading to an internationally recognised TEFL certificate will train you to take advantage of this.

Our 4-week TEFL course covers all the essentials you will need for teaching English, whether in a language school, a business, state school, in Thailand or elsewhere.

check it out ..
  • 4-weeks face-to-face training
  • training in a paradise location
  • qualifies you to teach ANYWHERE
  • Thailand’s best training facilities
  • the most popular TEFL destination
  • 8 training courses per year
  • our most popular TEFL course
  • study and play on Phuket island!

watch a review …

Quality courses at budget prices

Our goal with advanced TEFL is to provide a TESOL/TEFL teacher training course which exceeds all internationally recognised standards, prepares trainees for entry into the EFL/ESL profession, and gives trainees both theoretical knowledge and hands-on teaching experience. Nothing builds your confidence better than getting in front of a class

We’re confident our Phuket TEFL course is the highest quality, best value course offered in Thailand today. But don’t take our word for it; read the reviews on teflcoursereviews.com and check out all our review videos on Youtube.


Professional TEFL training

The advanced TEFL is a thorough TEFL teacher training course conducted in Patong Beach, Phuket that will prepare you for any situation you may find yourself in as a teacher. The program covers all aspects of modern English teaching methodology, English grammar, includes teacher observation periods and more teaching practice sessions than offered by any other provider. Some areas covered are:

  • Language analysis
  • The Learner, the Teacher and the Learning/Teaching Context
  • Assessing learner level
  • Planning for effective lessons
  • Classroom Management Skills
  • Teaching methodology
  • Resources and materials
  • Professional development
  • Classroom observation
  • Teaching practice

TEFL course session schedule

The advanced TEFL training course in Phuket runs (most days) from 9 am until 5 pm or 6 pm daily, with a one hour lunch break between 1 pm and 2 pm. Some days may have a later start or an earlier finish depending on student schedules for class observation and teaching practice classes.

Evenings and weekends are free to let you explore Patong and Phuket, although some independent study will be necessary during the evenings/weekends to complete assignments and prepare for the next day’s sessions or teaching practice.

The TESOL/TEFL qualification

Successful graduates of the Phuket advanced TEFL course are awarded a dual TEFL/TESL certificate. This comes along with a summary prepared by your course trainers detailing your performance throughout the course.

Whatever your future plans as an English teacher – whether in Phuket, elsewhere in Thailand, or even in other countries – you can be certain that with your TEFLPlus training and TEFL certificate you will receive attractive teaching job offers from quality schools.


Phuket TEFL Course structure

The advanced TEFL course is conducted over four weeks from Monday to Friday at our Patong TEFL training centre on Phuket island. The teacher training course has 4 components; EFL teaching methodology, English grammar, class observation and teaching practice. Also included are 10 lessons of Thai language to allow trainees to experience being a language learner.

The advanced TEFL course is held in accordance with recognised international standards and is validated by the Ministry of Education. This ensures every trainee receives the very best of instruction.

You will be guided through the process of planning, preparation, implementation and reflection of each lesson. By the end of the TEFL course you will be able to:

  • plan effective English lessons suited to the learner level of your class
  • apply the theory of English language learning to your lesson preparation
  • implement EFL teaching methodology into the classroom
  • manage a classroom
  • have fun teaching!

Teaching practice

During the Phuket TEFL course you will prepare and teach a minimum of 10 practice classes with real students in a classroom situation.

All teaching practice sessions are observed by a qualified English teacher who will complete a performance report to provide constructive feedback on your strengths and weaknesses as a teacher.All our teachers are previous graduates of the Phuket TEFL course and so are ideally qualified to help you as you practice and improve.

Teaching practice is an important, integral part of the course, and is undertaken in small groups of 3-4 trainees with volunteer students at different learner levels. The Course Trainer conducts feedback sessions after all practice classes.

TEFL course assessment

You are continually assessed throughout your Phuket TEFL course, then the course ends with written methodology and English grammar exams, along with a practical teaching demonstration of a pre-planned lesson by each trainee.

Successful trainees receive their TEFL/TESL certificates at the end of the last day.


Practical requirements

Your passport must be valid for six months beyond the date of entry into Thailand, and you must be able to obtain a police clearance certificate from your home country if you wish to work in certain countries.

The minimum entry age is 18, but persons under the age of 21 should consider carefully their employment prospects given their youth.

You should be in good physical and mental health.

TEFL course entry requirements

The advanced TEFL teacher training course in Phuket is open to all nationalities, including non-native speakers. Applicants should be fluent in English and be able to demonstrate the ability to speak and write clearly, explain thoughts and ideas coherently, express opinions and give instructions.

A degree or diploma is not required to participate in a TEFL course, although a high school education or equivalent would be advantageous.

Who is TEFL for?

The advancedTEFL course is the ideal training training solution for:

  • Trainees looking for the most practical course possible
  • University students taking a gap year to teach English and travel
  • EFL teachers going on to take up employment
  • Experienced English teachers without a qualification
  • Experienced English teachers in need of a refresher
  • Experienced teachers of other subjects moving into EFL
  • Anyone who wants the best quality TEFL training at the best value around
Company Details
Main Office | Course Location

5/11-12 Had Patong Road Patong Beach Phuket Thailand 83150

Course Location(s)
Course Type(s)
  • On-site TEFL Courses
  • Just Text What's Up
Course Length(s)
  • Standard (120-140 hours)
Certificate Type(s)
  • TEFL / TESL / TESOL
  • Iuliia Krylova
    April 22, 2018 at 12:00 am

    TEFL course at Patong Language School was a great experience. All our teachers were very professional when guiding each student. Li was very thoughtful and attentive, he taught us vital things for teaching: how to analyse, use and present the English language to students. I already had a bachelor degree in teaching before the course, and here I learnt how to make my lessons more effective by inspiring, motivating and encouraging students.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Olivia Adams
    April 21, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I took the TEFL course in March 2018. I really enjoyed it! Li is a great instructor. He really makes the hours fly by. The class sizes are small and the entire staff elevates the learning experience. This is actually school though, don’t expect to just “get by.” There is work involved and the hours are long. It does take some discipline an work, but that’s a good thing. You really do learn so many valuable skill sets. I’m a native English speaker and consider myself a great writer with proficient grammar and English language skills. Yet, there were plenty of topics brought up during the course that I did in fact need to be reminded about. Frankly, I never thought about some of the specific points brought up in class in relation to learning and teaching English as a foreign language. I’m pretty sure I said, “wow, English is a ridiculous language,” at least two or three times a week. If you plan to teach in Thailand (other countries too), this is a great opportunity. The staff really does everything in their power to help you find a position after graduation. They will guide you at every step.This is a highly organized course and Li does a great job of streamlining the mass amount of knowledge needed to complete certification in such a short period of time. Definitely recommend!P.S. All of the Thai and other English teachers are awesome too and there’s a great little (AFFORDABLE) coffee shop attached to the school’s lobby. (plus filtered water and motorbike parking spaces are provided)

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • R. Barnes
    December 4, 2017 at 12:00 am

    Awesome, just awesome. From the very first email through to receiving my certificate at the end of the course I expereinced the very best service. My enquiries were answered promptly and answered all my questions. The course was very thorough and quite challenging. The teaching practice was nerve wracking, but very worthwhile. I now feel confident and comfortable in front of a class of students. I really enjoyed my month in Patong beach and hope to find work that will allow me to stay on Phuket island. Thanks to everyone at the school for the terrific support!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Nicklas
    October 27, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I would recommend the TEFL-plus training at Patong Language School, Phuket. A very organized and structured course with a great instructor and helpful staff. Patong Language School is a serious but fun place to learn. The course gives great insight into teaching english in a structured and planned manner binding together theoretical knowledge with practical experience teaching real students. The course is intensive as a lot of knowledge and practice needs to be processed in a relatively short time. I would recommend the course for everyone who wants to be an english teacher in Thailand (or elsewhere) and like me need some structure and confidence to run a classroom. Challenging and very enjoyable!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Terry Scoble
    August 4, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I have just completed this course and, although very tiring, it was a lot of fun. The four weeks are quite intense and a lot of information has to be absorbed in a relatively short space of time. The quality of instruction is excellent and I learned a tremendous amount, not only about teaching English as a 2nd language, but also about the English language itself. The instruction was well-paced and delivered with great humour. The staff at Patong Language School are very friendly and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and feel fully-prepared for teaching English.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Allison
    July 9, 2017 at 12:00 am

    Li was an absolutely amazing instructor. He made everything in the class clear and easy to understand. We did a lot of practice teaching so by the end I felt completely confident in teaching the students on my own. Li always emailed me back right away. I was actually planning on taking the course a few years back but wasn’t able to. The only reason I came back to Phuket for the class was because of Li. He stayed in contact and assisted me with every question I had (which was a lot). I would recommend this course to everyone especially with Li as your instructor.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Kerrie Ross
    June 18, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I was not sure what to expect. I had not attended school in many years.
    1st day thrown in. Shown what to expect, and lesson plan from the start.
    And it all took off from there. I have been out of the learning system for a while, and found I struggled a bit. But with the best efforts from all teachers involved, I managed to complete the course and with better outcome than I anticipated.
    I cannot recomend this TEFL course enough to anyone looking for a change or new direction. Teachers never let you down. Virtually available 7 days a week, at almost any hour. Again, I wish I had teachers like these ones when I went to school.
    Just an all round great learning experience. And very lucky to have a wonderful class members too.
    Just do it if your looking for a challenge, new direction, or further your skills.
    Loved it , and want to go back to learn Thai there.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jennifer Vibe
    March 16, 2017 at 12:00 am

    About six months ago, I decided that getting my TEFL certificate would open up many opportunities for travel, adventure, and life experience. After careful research and consideration of many certification courses, I decided on Patong Language School for its credibility, location, and overall value. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and I had direct communication with my instructor throughout the entire process. When inquiring about visa situations, accommodations, course requirements, and financial inquiries to the months leading up to my departure for Phuket, Li Sasaki was readily available with a timely and helpful response. This did not change throughout the entire four week course. I had the opportunity to study with other travelers from all over the world, and the locals are some of the friendliest people I have ever had the absolute pleasure to become acquainted with. The food, beach time, and FUN, were all just icing on the cake. I would highly recommend this program to anyone!!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • James Rowland
    March 14, 2017 at 12:00 am

    From the first time I emailed TEFLPlus, I was impressed. My soon to be instructor, Li Sasaki, promptly replied and was helpful in answering all of my questions. The first day of class I had no idea what to expect. It had been over 12 years since I had been inside a classroom. I was pleased to learn that this class felt more like a family to me than a group of strangers. Li has a way of making everybody feel comfortable and the way our class interacted with each other was a reflection of Li’s personalityGrammar was never my strong suit and I was worried about being able to understand everything. Li presents the material in a way that makes it easy to understand and is always available to make sure that you have all the help you need. I remember thinking on the second day that it would not be possible in just four weeks for me to have the skills to get up in front of a classroom and teach a 50 minute lesson. By the second week I was ready to get in front of the class and start teaching! Over the final two weeks of the class I worked on polishing the rest of my lessons and I have never felt more confident about teaching. In summary, I would highly recommend this class to anyone considering teaching English. I found all of the course content to be extremely helpful and had ample practice teaching time to feel prepared for the real world. Li is truly a special teacher, I never expected this class to be fun, but I honestly looked forward to each day. He has a way of staying on task without the class feeling boring and rigid. I also want to say that I have been done with the class for 5 days now and Li has been giving me daily feedback on all of my questions regarding job placement and CV questions. Take this course!!!!Thanks, TEFLPlusJames Rowland

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sofia
    January 1, 2017 at 12:00 am

    Patong Language School is an excellent place to take your TEFL course. Li is an amazing instructor and cares about each of his students different needs. I am not the best with grammar, but with Li’s help I was able to learn and pass the course with an A. It definitely wasn’t a walk in the park, but thats what made it a great course and well worth your money. There were only 2 other people in the month long class with me, so we got to know each other REALLY well, and I actually ended up living and teaching with one of the girls in my class. So, not only is it a great course education wise, but you will meet friends that you’ll have for life. I can highly recommend this TEFL course to anyone thinking about teaching english abroad. I’m very happy with my choice to attend Patong Language School back in October, and I am now teaching full time in Phuket, Thailand!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Marlyn Hangsing
    October 29, 2016 at 12:00 am

    It was the most rewarding 4 weeks of my life in a very long time. It was interesting since day1. Back to school after 19 years was a brand new experience. But this time it was MY choice to go to school unlike when i was 4 years old, following norm. I was excited and overflowing with enthusiasm. And Li made it intriguing from the very moment he wrote ‘Li’ on the whiteboard. Though at the very last moment when he wished us all well for our future , i was a bit emotional.We were a class of 6 awesome souls who connected well. The course itself was not difficult but it wasn’t something that one should take it lightly either. Right from the start, it was a * FUNtastic * experience.
    Very helpful and friendly staff and Li was outstandingly an amazing teacher, very professional and a great friend.
    I personally loved those 9am Thai classes. Something new, something fun to start the day with.
    The practical teaching hours were nerve wrecking in the begining but it was alright after a couple of times. Slowly the nerves do settle.
    I have all good things to say because everything was excellent. With my TEFL certificate i have also become a better artist ( at least drawing stick figures ).
    I want to thank Li and each and everyone at PLS ( teaching & non teaching staff) for making my experience a super memorable one.And please do maintain the crisp and prompt replies.
    This was one of the most impressive thing about Patong Language School. I thought I asked too many silly questions or made stupid enquiries but you all were very patient and professional and indeed very helpful.Been & Gone.
    ( happily )Marlyn.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Paul
    October 21, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I really enjoyed taking my TELF course here in Patong. There were only 6 of us in the course, which made it a fun and dynamic environment. I feel like I learned a lot in the four weeks I was there, and I feel much more confident being in front of a class than I would have before. The practice teaching was the best thing this course had to offer. Getting in front of non-native English speakers and giving lessons was challenging but very rewarding. The staff is great, and the location even better. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in becoming an English teacher!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • John Patterson
    October 21, 2016 at 12:00 am

    Ive just completed my TEFL plus course in Patong and I must say how impressed I was with the commitment from the staff and especially the lead instructor Li who was an absolute professional from beginning to end and will remain my friend hopefully as long as I live here.
    I still can’t believe the amount of work I put in to achieving my goal but it was well worth it in the end and the friendly atmosphere certainly made everyday a lot easier.
    I am already teaching using the guidelines that I was taught and hopefully I will help the way I was helped in achieving my goals.Thank you Li for all your effort,patience and guidance you showed throughout the course.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Simon Ward
    September 10, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I just cannot recommend this course too highly. Totally impressed with Li’s professionalism, which shone through during all correspondence even before my arrival in Phuket, and continued throughout the course. On the first morning myself and nine others trainees started the challenging, but most enjoyable task in front of us. By the end of the first week I was pretty shattered but disappointed that there was no school on Saturday and Sunday. (Yes, it was that good) Monday could not come around fast enough so I could get stuck in again. Weeks 2, 3 and 4 just got better and better. The big downside was that it came to an end! If anyone wants to become an English teacher equipped with the tools to stand in front of a class and be confident of what they are doing, then this is the course to take. The accreditation from the Thai Ministry of Education speaks volumes regarding Patong Language School and is very well deserved, and their ranking of 2nd in Thailand and 6th worldwide is further endorsement of this excellent facility and their staff.
    I will hold fond memories of my four weeks there for the rest of my life. Many thanks to Li, in particular, but also Tin, Champ, Tui, Elf and the rest of the team. Good luck and good health to you all.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Patrick
    July 30, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I just finished the June TEFL course and I happily recommend this course to anyone.Li was an excellent instructor, the lessons were well planned and delivered in a professional manner. Tin, my Thai instructor, not only conducted entertaining lessons but also gave a wonderful insight into Thai culture. The course had two weeks of practice teaching which is why I chose this course. Many other courses do not offer this.The location of the school is a bonus. It’s within walking distance of everything Patong has to offer. I organised my own accommodation but those that took the school’s hotel package enjoyed it.The facilities at the school are great. The classrooms are cosy and create a good learning atmosphere. Throw in a cafe and free wifi and each day flies by.There are a lot of TEFL courses out there. I did my research and chose Patong Language School. I wasn’t disappointed. I didn’t use the job placement so couldn’t rate it.Thanks everyone – Li & Tin (Also Tui, karn, Gung & Kizuku)

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Grant
    June 30, 2016 at 12:00 am

    This was a challenging course but well worth it. I already had teaching experience, so I knew it would not be easy. It is a full time task once you start. There is a lot of grammar which was a pain for me but had to be done. The course is incredibly professional and I liked everybody at TEFL Plus. It’s a very well run outfit. The instructors are incredibly knowledgeable and Li was really good. He knows his stuff. Big time.
    I highly recommend them.Thanks TEFL plus!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Joseph
    May 18, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I chose Teflplus mainly because of the great reviews I’d read on this site. It seems to be a bit of a minefield booking a Tefl course and I read a lot of horror stories online before taking the plungs. I must admit I was concerned about either being ripped off or the course being rubbish. Thanks heavens I chose Teflplus!
    Right from the first email I felt that this was a professional outfit, and this was confirmed when I arrived in Phuket. The facilities are superb, very modern and clean, well-equipped and busy with language students coming and going all day.
    The trainer was very competent and helpful throughout the training. We all (8 trainees) enjoyed it and agreed that we’d learned a lot more han seemed possible in four weeks.
    I left confident that I could get in front of a class and not look a complete fool!
    Although they don’t offer ‘guaranteed’ job placement, Li is very helpful on this score and managed to hook a couple of us up with jobs locally. Personally I would steer clear of courses offering job placements, if that’s the main attraction. Get yourself some quality training like that offered at Teflplus and you’ll find there are plenty of jobs going.
    Good luck to anyone starting out on this journey!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jasper Stokes
    April 24, 2016 at 12:00 am

    This course (TEFLplus 4 weeks advancedTEFL) was a brilliant course and I am very happy that I chose to do this course, as this course far exceeded my expectations.The cousre was challenging, but the environment was very fun and relaxed. On this course we cover 3 topics, grammar, methodology and teaching practice each was a challange but enjoyable, and the topics and lesson were well organised.This made learning easier and made all the teachers feel very approachable, and they were willing to help me with any of my problems cousre related or personal.Li Sasaki was a fantastic teacher, and really helped me improve on my teaching skills and learn all about grammar and teaching methodology. Li was always there for help during and after school hours.The Patong Language School is also in an excellent location, with many restaurants and hotels near the school, and the beach is only a 5 minute walk. The school was modern with free WiFi and a nice cafe downstairs.For me this is the best TEFL course (which is also licenced by the Thai MoE) to do in Thailand as it is good value for money, the location is great, and learning environment was superb, and I gained a recgonised TEFL certificate. I would recommend this place if you’re considering doing a TEFL in Thailand, as I enjoyed this experience alot.I would personally like to thank PLS for this wonderful experience and thank Li the experience and all the help he gave me.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sacha Bourdeau
    March 20, 2016 at 12:00 am

    If you are thinking about doing an on-site TEFL, you’re on the right track to becoming a real deal foreign english teacher. I am in Vietnam right now after completing my degree two weeks ago. Today, my methodology is improving material usage in the classroom, with little preparation time. I got a contract with no demonstration lesson because they know, I know what my goals are and how to achieve them. Li will answer everything by email, more than often the same night. He teaches the class in a very controlled manner that is as fun as it could be. Plenty of class time prepares you for all tests, written or oral. Many things are taught in the course in a helpful general cycle that connects everything together. My 20 day course was like a semester of university, but without wasting time and easier to get good grades. If you want to work smarter, not harder; if you want to teach anyone at any level; Teach many hours with real students with lots of feedback both ways; make meaningful friendship with everyone there, go with TEFLPlus. There’s no job guarantee because a good grade in this class is one.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Kristina
    March 18, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I finished my 4-week onsite TEFL course at TEFL Plus a couple of weeks ago and now I am in the process of finding a teaching job in Thailand. I want to say thanks to everyone at TEFL Plus who helped me and the other 6 trainees to get through this course. The stucture of the course is fantastic, we managed to cover a lot in these 4 weeks – grammar, methodology and teaching practice! In my opinion 2 weeks of teaching practice is the most challenging part of this course, but the way our TEFL trainer led us through it was incredibily helpful. All the teaching practice sessions would be observed by different TEFL trainers and your classmates, at the end of each session you would be given very detailed feedback about your lesson which will help you to work on and improve your teaching techniques. I have only good things to say about this school, staff and facilities, you will have a great and fun experience if you choose TEFL Plus I promise I am sure all of my coursemates will agree with me and as a bonus you get to meet a bunch of super interesting and friendly people who will become your really good friends by the end of this course!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Emily
    March 9, 2016 at 12:00 am

    If you’re looking to complete your TEFL and find a job immediately after – or if you’re just looking for a new experience in a beautiful location, then I couldn’t recommend this course more. The 4 week course was very concise and well planned out, with really really in-depth learning. The teachers and staff were all kind and welcoming and more than happy to assist you in all areas. The facility is modern and a perfect learning environment, with an attached coffee shop and very close to many restaurants – and the beach! An all round 5 star course!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Herculas Coetzee
    February 3, 2016 at 12:00 am

    When I decided to teach English abroad I was quite surprised by the emphasis placed on the opportunity to travel Asia and experience new cultures by most sites. The first thought that sprung to mind was: How does this position Teaching as a profession? I arrived at Patong Language School in Phuket on the 10th of October 2015. After a hectic first week most of the students asked the same question. Can I or rather do I want to teach? The daunting task of what it means to be an educator was clearly communicated and maintained throughout the next three weeks. Highly competent and dedicated instructors took us through drill session after drill session, making sure that wen we leave we will be confident and excel. All my fellow students are currently employed in various Asian countries and burning the torch as educators firstly because they believe in education and secondly to have fun, loads of it.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Michela
    January 21, 2016 at 12:00 am

    Doing the Tefl course has been one of the best things i could ever do. It was’nt easy, everything was new, many hours of studying and of practise. But it was a great experience of life, of meeting new people from all over the world and of learning a beautiful job that helps you to travel and to make enough money to live anywhere you want. The Patong Language School is simply the best school around; its in Patong, close to the beach and to the centre. Its professional, clean with nice classrooms and great teachers and very helpful staff. They will help you anytime you will need and at the end of the course you are really going to miss them.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Joshua Davidson
    January 18, 2016 at 12:00 am

    This was an absolutely amazing course. It is no walk in the park. If you go into this thinking it will be a nice hobby/working vacation then you will be disappointed. This is a real deal school. It is the equivalent of a full time job plus homework. Don’t think you’ll be able to laze on the beach everyday. With that said the course is incredibly professional. The instructors are incredibly knowledgeable and Li is a delight to work with. You will learn immensely and make life long friends. The weekends will be filled with fun days at the beach and nights out. It’s the only TEFL course I’ve taken, but I can’t imagine them being much better than this. Thanks TEFL plus!!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Izzy
    October 30, 2015 at 12:00 am

    The program is outstanding. I was highly satisfied with all that I learned and what was given to me during the four-week course. From pre-arrival, throughout, and even afterwards, TEFL Plus has impressed me immensely. The program coordinator, Li Sasaki, does an excellent job at corresponding with prospective students and communicates consistently. The response rate is always 100% and prompt, showing the professionalism and genuine care this program has for its students.Rated 2nd in Thailand and 6th in the world, its not hard to be swayed by the offerings of a reputable institution. Upon entry, you can see how well-established this program is and that its earned its ranking. All materials were provided to us and when something was unsatisfactory, they immediately helped to remedy the situation. For example, we mentioned a lack of folders, and the next day, we all received not one, but two! The program was designed to really assist its students to succeed and to make the transition from learners into workers as easy as possible. We were given cover letter templates, sample resumes, a list of potential employees. They worked it so that the class incorporated even a Thai language and culture component that is necessary for obtaining a work visa in Thailand. Every sector of what is promised by TEFL certificates: from teaching practice to methodology to a review of basic grammar is covered so comprehensively, it seems as if you were learning about the subject for years and not just a few weeks. The class curriculum itself was notably very well-planned out. Our instructor, Stefan, has been an employee at Phuket Language School for sixteen years. There was no doubt how well he knew the course material and subject matter, how it was so ingrained him in, he could go off in tangents and still make it relevant to what we needed to learn. One exercise he used to enforce the flawlessness of the teaching methodology they taught us was conducing a lesson in solely in Japanese. Even though none of us spoke the language, we were still able to perform as he asked. We could see how the method of teaching a second language used by TEFL Plus could be applied using any language. It strengthened my belief in the efficacy of the teaching methodology that this school abides by. I felt confident and self-assured by the time this class was through. I cannot endorse this program enough. It is a life investment! If you want to be an educator that is taken seriously, do it the right way and invest in a program that is working for you to be the best you can be!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jon pickles
    October 21, 2015 at 12:00 am

    The venue and all the staff were fantastic a great pleasure, I also met some great new people. The course was hard but enjoyable worth the hard work. This course is a must if you wish to either improve or refresh your knowledge great course fantastic people.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Lavina
    September 25, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I’d just completed the Phuket Intro to TEFL program (which ran from 17- 21 August) and the experience had been mind blowing in an amazing way!All along I had contemplated to do an online TEFL course given that I wasn’t sure if becoming a TEFL teacher was something I would consider in the short future and also because spending 4 weeks overseas just don’t work well with my current work commitments. However when I chanced upon TEFL Plus’ 1 week program, I realised that not only did the duration fit well with my work commitments, I would get to study in a classroom environment and have face to face interactions with students during teaching practices.So I emailed TEFL Plus for more information on the 1 week program and Li who replied to all my emails with patience and friendliness was a great help. This is also of the reason why I’ve decided to sign up for the program on top of the wonderful reviews I’ve read here.Right from the first day of class, our instructor Stefan wasted no time in getting us started on grammar and methodology as we had to cover a program which usually lasts for 4 weeks (Yes, it’s that fast and furious!). Stefan might looked stern and strict but he’s an amazing teacher and funny at times (even if he doesn’t look the part). I’ve learnt so much from him, not just what’s in the program but from his vast knowledge (30 years of teaching!) of the English language. His teaching had created a strong interest in me (a) to learn more about the English language and (b) to teach non native speakers. His encouragement and sharp comments gave me confidence to do well in my teaching practices which can be pretty daunting considering that public speaking is not my strength. During the program, we also had the opportunities to observe real teaching sessions by other English teachers (Tony, Lotte and Li). Embarking on this 1 week program is one of the best decisions and most enriching decisions I’ve made in my life.Big thanks to Stefan, Li, Karn, Coco and TEFL Plus!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Monika Nowak
    September 18, 2015 at 12:00 am

    Hallo from Germany….I started my TEFL plus course on the 20th April 2015 and I am really satisfied and happy about that I did it!
    First I met Li before I signed up online and he took extra time when I visited the school in Patong.
    Li answered all my questions I had before I signed up and started the course.
    He was always very helpful and supported every student with everything they needed during the entire course time!
    All teachers and students who work at PLS are great personalities and helped us to achieve the best results. I had a great time during the course with all of them.
    Stefan our Methodology teacher gives this 4 weeks course a special note and he always had a good sense of humor!
    We had great conversations with him and the entire class.
    He is a great teacher and I wish my teachers in Germany would have been like him… High quality and a lot of experience.
    We were a class of 9 international people from all around the world and 4 native speakers.
    It was really a great class atmosphere!!! I really met friends and wonderful characters I am still in touch with.
    I must say that it is a lot of grammar and tenses I had to refresh, because when I went to school last time it was 13 years ago;-)
    My opinion is that if you have a good base of spoken and written English in the most used and common tenses, you can reach great results and approve your English language to get a good English trainer!
    It isn’t easy because the teachers have to move on quick with all the material/subject matter in a short time of 4 weeks that was the only thing which kept my buisy with my homework til late at night. :-))Maybe it will be helpful for those who have not so much knowledge in grammar from school, to look into grammar and tenses before they start a TEFL plus course.
    I had a “good” base of grammar knowledge and it was a bit tough to get all of it in 4 weeks easily but I also had a bit trouble with a root infection during that time.
    A big pro is you are able to see from the first week how the structures are which you need to follow or practice to get the best results.
    After 2 weeks you are able to practice it in front of your own class and you get a great feedback with class observation reports written by some of your colleagues from your class and one of the teacher who observed the teaching practice!
    I am sure everyone can do it if they will stay focused on the lessons and the homework.
    The support of Stefan, Li, Tony, Tin, Luise and all the other teachers and students who work there was great, so take your chance to get an English Trainer in Thailand.I improved my English a lot during and after the TEFL plus course and I can definitely recommend it at Patong Language School!
    I will surely visit PLS again soon for some Thai lessons with P Krisikan!Regards and hugs also to the students Gan and Coco, Annalise and Waranut!!!! They were great!!
    Thanks for everything and I hope to see you soon when I am back to Phuket by the end of the year!Monika Nowak

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Zohaib Sikander
    September 13, 2015 at 12:00 am

    The help I got before and during the course was unmatched. The staff was very supportive and friendly and everyone was very approachable. They catered to the students’ every need.Mr. Sasaki guided me for 2 months before I could come to Thailand and also helped me get an ED visa by sending me the necessary paper work as soon as it was needed. He ruined his 10 minute breaks between classes just to answer even the most trivial of questions. This man is GOLD.Our instructor was Stefan Klimsch who did a fantastic job teaching us exactly what we needed to learn to be able to instruct students anywhere in the world with our TEFL certifications. He knows the material like the back of his hand and i don’t think anyone can even match his expertise on the subject. Tony, Lotti, Tin and M all also did a fantastic job either teaching us or observing us and their feedback was, and always will be priceless and invaluable for my future endeavours. A sincere thank you to all of you for your help and support.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sahar Paliwala
    September 12, 2015 at 12:00 am

    The course was very well structured, and wonderfully executed. Stefan was a fantastic trainer and the knowledge and experience he imparted was invaluable. From the theory classes to the practical training, everything was organized perfectly. The facilities were great, and the school is in a very central location. Li was very helpful and always went out of his way to help us. A fantastic experience and well worth the money! Would recommend it to anyone who wants to work in Thailand or South East Asia.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Mark
    August 24, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I was torn between several TEFL schools. The resason I chose TEFL Plus is because of the great reviews on this page. It definititely lived up to the hype.
    Li was another reason I chose this program. He was very personal and patient throughout my decision process. He sent me e-mails (not templates) and even called me several times while I was in the U.S.
    Stefan is an amazing instructor with 30 years of teaching experience. He taught me more about grammar than I learned throughout my whole elementary and high school career.
    The course was very intensive and you definitely have to put in some work. My only suggestion is to study up on some grammar before you come…and bring sunblock and swim trunks 😉
    I made some great friends and had an unforgettable experience in Patong. No regrets 🙂

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jarrod
    August 3, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I completed the 4 week TEFL premium package. The course was great and I had no problems with it at all! All the staff and students were friendly and professional. The classes were structured and everyone participated. Would definitely recommend people come to this school whether it is to learn to speak English or learn to teach English as a foreign language!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • James
    June 26, 2015 at 12:00 am

    Decided to get TEFL certified after teaching for a few years with nothing but a degree and some in-house training. After looking at the reviews on this site I went with TEFLplus. It must have been one of the best decisions I’ve made.I’d actually emailed a few different TEFL places, but I was most impressed by Li’s response. In fact, ever since my initial email, Li has been super friendly and helpful with giving us advice on everything in and out of the classroom. He’s also just a cool guy to hang out with. Actually everyone at TEFLplus is really cool and genuine, I think that’s what made my experience here so great.Our main TEFL trainer, Stefan, has an enormous amount of teaching knowledge under his belt which he will bestow upon you if you’re willing to accept. I was researching(stalking) some of the TEFLplus pictures before and saw Stefan’s stern look and I thought “damn, this guy”, but don’t let his intimidating exterior scare you; he’s actually a funny guy!So you’ll be in good hands both logistically and academically. Still of course some of you might be worrying about not passing. There’s nothing to worry about! If you pay attention in class and spend some time preparing for the tests and lessons, you WILL do well. Some people like to emphasize how “intensive” the course is, but really, it’s not rocket science. And if you end up in a great class like I did, you’ll have a great memorable time!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

Add a review