Description

TEFL Iberia is a modern English teacher training school in Barcelona, Spain. We provide a friendly and supportive atmosphere where you can learn to teach English in small groups.Our TEFL courses are practical, professional, and affordable and help students from all over the world to become first-class English teachers. Here are some of the key reasons why previous graduates chose to study with us:

– Small groups and modern facilities.
– Accredited by Trinity College London and providing the Trinity CertTESOL qualification.
– Dedicated careers and employment service (90% of students find a job within a month of graduation).
– 6+ hours of teaching practice with real learners.
– Consistently outstanding graduate reviews.
– Comfortable and affordable accommodation arranged for you before you start.
– Help processing a student visa

There are many routes available for students of all schedules and lifestyles.

One month Trinity CertTESOL Course

Next scheduled course:

4 Jun 2018 - 29 Jun 2018

4 weeks160 hours classroom time

Gain an internationally recognised TEFL qualification in 4 weeks and work anywhere in the world.

This course is ideal for you if:

  • You have never taught before or have little formal experience
  • You want to maximise your work opportunities with first-class training and internationally recognised Trinity TESOL certificate (equivalent to CELTA)
  • You need help with your move to Barcelona
  • You are serious about making a career change and becoming an English teacher

Key features

  • Small groups and personalised approach – maximum of 12 trainees per class
  • Supportive atmosphere and highly experienced staff team
  • 6+ hours of observed teaching practice with real learners
  • Modern classrooms – interactive whiteboards, projectors, library
  • Job contacts and placement help – our host school hires exclusively from TEFL Iberia graduates

 

 
Main Office | Course Location

Calle Valencia 275, 3rd floor 08009 Barcelona, Spain

Course Location(s)
Course Type(s)
  • On-site TEFL Courses
  • Just Text What's Up
Course Length(s)
  • Short Courses (40-100 hours), Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate Type(s)
  • Trinity CertTESOL
Specialist Course(s)
  • Grammar, Professional Development, Teaching Young Learners (YL)
  • Estefania Morales
    April 12, 2018 at 12:00 am

    After spending hours online researching different courses in Barcelona, I chose TEFL Iberia and I couldn’t have made a better decision! From the moment I inquired about the course, the staff were extremely helpful and continue to be as I learn new teaching skills through their Teacher Development course. Before I left California, I was excited and nervous (no prior teaching experience) but finished the course feeling confident about my abilities to teach in Barcelona.
    The teachers are engaging and knowledgeable so the value that you get from the course is fantastic. You learn a little bit of everything and ease into teaching from the very first day. The school itself also feels very comfortable and you´re free to use all the resources. Overall, a great experience and I would highly recommend

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Iona
    August 31, 2017 at 12:00 am

    Having recently finished the 160 hour course at TEFL Iberia, I honestly couldn’t have been happier with my choice. I was a little overwhelmed in the first week by the quantity and complexity of the coursework, but the staff were very helpful and supportive (thanks Joanna and Carley!) We had detailed feedback on every teaching session, and our tutors were incredibly patient and happy to answer every question and explain anything we didn’t understand. I would recommend this course to anyone who is thinking of becoming a TEFL teacher. The workload is heavy, but it left me really well prepared for teaching. The careers placement service was also really helpful in getting me my first teaching job. 10/10!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Lyndsey
    August 26, 2017 at 12:00 am

    For anyone who’s thinking about doing their teacher training at TEFL Iberia, look no further. Studying at TEFL Iberia was an unforgettable experience! I had so much fun on this course. The school has a great atmosphere, the team are experts in their field and really kind and supportive. I learned so much from that first day, when I had no experience and I was standing in front of the class feeling terrified, to the last day of the course when I was confidently teaching my final class. Even though the month passed so quickly, I left with all the skills and knowledge I need to be a successful and competent English teacher. Thanks again to everyone at TEFL Iberia for providing me with such a wonderful experience! I can’t recommend this course enough!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Christine
    August 18, 2017 at 12:00 am

    Moving to Barcelona and doing the TEFL course was one of the best decisions I could have made. I had never taught before so I didn’t really know what to expect, but after talking with Carley over Skype I was confident that the course was going to be the right fit for me, and it really was! As an expat moving overseas for the first time, the support and knowledge of the TEFL Iberia staff made the whole process much less stressful than it otherwise might have been. The course was very comprehensive and challenging as a result, but I learned so much and I now have the skills and knowledge to teach anywhere in the world. I’ll always be grateful for how positive my first teaching experience was at TEFL Iberia. Thank you to all the staff!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Gianluca DePaolis
    August 11, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I was already living in Barcelona when I decided to study at TEFL Iberia and become an English teacher. I thought the course would be very difficult because English is my second language, but actually I found the grammar part of the course very easy, because I had already studied a lot of it before. The best part of the course for me was the teaching practice. We had to teach every afternoon, we taught groups and private classes and Joanna gave us a lot of constructive criticism after each class. I also learned a lot from watching the other students teaching, which was very interesting. I have been teaching English classes for the last three months now and I love it! So don’t worry if you are not a native English speaker – if your level is high enough then you can still become a teacher, and I would recommend TEFL Iberia to get your certificate. Grazie a tutti a TEFL Iberia!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Colm O'Donnell
    June 9, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I chose to do my TEFL course at TEFL Iberia because it came recommended by a friend. I’d never done any teaching before, and so when we had to get up and teach on the first day I was really nervous! But I have to say that we got a lot of support from Joanna, our tutor. We taught every day and got feedback after class which really helped me improve during the course. Apart from the teaching, I really enjoyed the input sessions where we learned about grammar and methodology – I left feeling really well-equipped to go out and get a teaching job. The other thing I liked about the school was that it was a really friendly place, which is great when you’re new to Barcelona. I’d definitely recommend it, a great course with great people!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Becky
    April 17, 2016 at 12:00 am

    My experience on the month-long course was wholly positive. TEFL Iberia is centrally located with fantastic facilities. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed from day one, with every member of staff being approachable and ready to help.
    Although the course is challenging, due to helpful guidance from the tutors not once did it feel overwhelming. You really hit the ground running and teach from day one (which, although initially daunting, really is the best thing!) and receive constructive and thorough feedback after each class.
    My experience with TEFL Iberia didn’t finish once my course was over – I received emails from the team asking how I was getting on, and also got lots of really appreciated guidance on finding work. I couldn’t recommend this course enough; I’ve made some great friends and now feel confident as a teacher.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Joanna
    January 17, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I thoroughly enjoyed the one-month TEFL course at TEFL Iberia. The tutors were fantastic and created a positive, friendly and stimulating environment for us to work in. The workload was not too over-bearing and the practical teaching experience was invaluable and really allowed you to delve into the teaching right from the start. Great resources and facilities too, and I met a lovely group of people who are now friends.
    Overall, I would highly recommend this course to others interested in teaching English in Barcelona.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Silvie
    December 10, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I did the one month intensive course this summer and I have no regrets. The staff, the facilities, the other students, the location and the weather were great. The staff are professional and helpful and always have a smile on their face. The facilities are clean and bright and well equipped. I learned a lot and made some great friends during the course and I am now teaching English in Dublin.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • George
    December 3, 2015 at 12:00 am

    A really great course which prepared me for teaching English. Great staff, very friendly and knowledgeable. I had a fantastic time and made some really good friends. If you are thinking about doing TEFL in Barcelona I would highly recommend this course.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Linda Ross
    May 3, 2015 at 12:00 am

    If you are interested in becoming a certified English teacher, I highly recommend the one month, intensive course offered at TEFL Iberia. The school is centrally located and the facility is beautiful, with a friendly atmosphere. The 6 classrooms are well-equipped with interactive white boards and printers. The library is well-stocked with resource books, as well as 5 large screen Apple computers. Richard, the director of the program is a bright and extraordinary young man. His morning grammar classes were informative and fun. Richard and Rosie are friendly, knowledgable, and supportive. Both were always available to help each individual student plan lessons for afternoon classes. Immediately after students finished teaching a class, Rosie and Richard conducted feedback sessions, which were always constructive, positive and geared towards helping us become better teachers. During these sessions, we gained the tools to identify our strengths and weaknesses. I am over 50-years-old and it’s been a long time since I’ve been a student. From start to finish, the course was a great experience! I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it! I feel confident and fully prepared to begin teaching English as a foreign language.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Anya
    March 24, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I took a month long course and couldn’t be happier with it! The teachers were extremely professional and the lessons were very well guided in a fun but much needed intensive manner. I’ve never taught prior to taking the course but I walked out with so much knowledge and confidence. The school is very well located, inviting and has all the resources that are needed for teachers to be. I highly recommend taking the course for anyone who is interested in a teaching career.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Will Bartlett
    March 9, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I cannot rate the course highly enough. From day 1 the course was innovative and informative. The teachers were extremely professional and friendly, and the school is a great place to learn and teach. The resources were also great, providing an opportunity to use interactive white boards and up to date teaching textbooks. More than enough hours of teaching alongside the much needed grammar provided a perfect balance for the course. I had never taught before but this course gave me the confidence and knowledge needed to start a career in teaching.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Dawn Redman
    January 15, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I thoroughly enjoyed the week course in November 2014, and would highly recommend it – the class content was varied and helped you establish a solid understanding of the principles of teaching. You teach your first class on the first day; daunting but rewarding. The school’s resources are extensive, modern and it has a great small library, full of books and DVDs. Overall a really enjoyable experience.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Leon
    September 23, 2014 at 12:00 am

    Completing the TEFL course at TEFL Iberia was a fantastic experience. I was very pleased with all aspects of the course as the teachers and facilities really impressed me. Covering a wide range of teaching methods, materials and getting the face time with students was valuable experience for all the TEFL students.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Charlotte Lisbonne
    August 24, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I signed onto the week-long ‘taster’ course and found it very rewarding. At times, I found myself pushed so far out my comfort zone BUT was hugely satisfied when I actually managed to prepare and deliver a class. To real, living, breathing students! It’s a great feeling! The teaching team were fantastic and very flexible (which, as a working mum, I was grateful for). To anybody thinking of become an English teacher, I really recommend this school. Go for it!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Adam Turner
    August 23, 2014 at 12:00 am

    Having recently completed a one week intensive course with TEFL Iberia I would certainly recommend it to others.Richard and the staff are extremely friendly, knowledgeable and deliver classes in a relaxed but professional manner.The course content is simple, effective and to the point. You’ll learn a range of new skills, from grammar to teaching techniques, and will see yourself grow in confidence as a teacher over just a few days.It’s the perfect course for anybody looking for a condensed introduction to TEFL teaching.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jenny
    August 2, 2014 at 12:00 am

    An excellent week course for new teachers or those needing a refresher course. Gives you the knowledge, practice and confidence to start teaching and meet some new people whilst you’re at it. Quality of teaching was excellent, a good balance of instruction and teaching practice for the students. Lessons were interactive and fun and feedback really useful every day from different course instructors. Very good and relaxed environment in a great location in the city. Resources provided and plenty of support and information about taking the next step and getting the first job. Overall well worth the money and thank you TEFL Iberia!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Rosie Micklewright
    July 25, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I recently did the week long course at TEFL Iberia. My aim was to brush up on my TEFL skills after having not taught for some time and this intensive course definitely got me back into the swing of things. You teach every day and while this is slightly terrifying on day one it is great practice. The school has excellent resources and you also learn how to use an interactive white board (very high tech!). The tutors were very knowledgeable and provided a lot of guidance and help, especially when lesson planning. The feedback after lessons was constructive and there were real goals to work towards from class to class. On the last day of the course Jade from the Barcelona TEFL Teachers Association came to speak to us about finding teaching jobs in Barcelona and gave us great tips and advice, all of which I found very helpful. I feel much more confident about teaching now and I would definitely recommend TEFL Iberia!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Daniela Martínez
    June 23, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I’m very happy that I decided to invest in the TEFL course at TEFL Iberia. Since the first day I started teaching students with different levels, from complete beginners to advance. TEFL Iberia is a committed school for committed students willing to work hard to become good teachers. TEFL Iberia has high standards and they are not willing to lower them down. If you are willing to work hard to become a great English teacher, than this is the TEFL school you are looking for.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Burton Asher
    June 22, 2014 at 12:00 am

    What a brilliant course. I loved the friendly atmosphere at the school, the dedicated help from the tutors, the practical hands-on attitude (I was teaching from day one), and I feel prepared and confident on many levels to begin my English teaching career.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jack
    May 24, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I have just completed a month long TEFL training at TEFL-Iberia and it was great! We started learning the concepts behind teaching English and got to practice teaching small classes from day 1! Richard (who runs the course) was very involved and provided great course content and feedback throughout. If you’re thinking of becoming TEFL certified I would highly recommend TEFL-Iberia.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jon MacLeod
    May 21, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I really recommend this course. I recently completed the month course and it was fantastic. The location is perfect and the people are great, professional and a good laugh. I looked forward to going in everyday and I made some great friends. The pace of the course is perfect with loads of time allocated to teaching experience. A truly 5 Star experience *****

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Guy Smith
    April 27, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I did the one week intensive course at TEFL Iberia and thought it was great. Experience teaching 5 levels of student was very helpful. Excellent teaching and facilities – learnt some grammar and teaching principles, and how to make your own lesson plans. And good feedback from teaching too. Would highly recommend.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sam
    April 13, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I attended the TEFL intensive week-long course in mid February and
    haven´t looked back since! The lecturers were professional, courteous, and above all knowledgable and passionate about the course content. The teachers at TEFL Iberia truly have a passion for English and this positive outlook aided me in developing my own love for teaching. I highly recommend the course to anyone interested in entering the teaching profession!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Ken
    April 5, 2014 at 12:00 am

    The week long intensive course was great. Very informative and well structured. The Instructors were very hands on and competent, providing great guidance and ideas to develop your own strengths as a teacher. I would highly recommend this course as a very efficient and enjoyable way to earn teaching qualifications.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Heidi Johnston
    March 19, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I chose to take the 30 hour TEFL training with TEFL Iberia and I would highly recommend it to any one who wishes to become certified to teach English. It is a very quick, yet very informative and intense course. I would suggest to anyone taking the course, review the information they provide you on grammar etc, before the training starts. With only 30 hours of training and the majority of that being practical experience (lesson plan preparation and teaching experience), the more review you give yourself of English grammar and methodologies, the better it will be for you. On the very first day we became teachers, with real English learners and over the week, we worked teaching English to varied levels of students (such a great experience). Our instructor was very informative and offered guidance and support throughout the entire course (and continues to do so even after we have finished, sending us websites and information for jobs, CV reviews etc). The staff at TEFL Iberia are all very knowledgeable, friendly and willing to go above and beyond to assist their students. The facility itself uses the latest technologies to help their teaching staff train their language students. Great school, great staff and I’m looking forward to finding a great job because of it.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jasper Vanuytrecht
    February 22, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I was very happy having completed my first TEFL course at TEFL Iberia. We worked in small groups which allowed us to learn fast and got a great training from our teacher Richard. I learned a lot during these 5 days and didn’t expect I would enjoy teaching English that much.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

Add a review