Description

As a TEFL Express graduate you will not only have experienced the highest training standards but also receive continued support when embarking on a career teaching English as a foreign language. We’re brought to you by Language Link, whose distinguished reputation in the English language teaching and training industry makes us a leader in our field. We’ve designed our course packages to suit you, whether you’re brand new to TEFL or an experienced teacher who’d like to explore different countries by teaching English.Not sure if online training is for you? View our course demo and you’ll soon see that our video-based TEFL course is just like being in the classroom with a live teacher in front of youOver 60,000 trainee TEFL teachers have taken their teacher training with us, enrolling on a TEFL course is your first step to a life-changing adventure abroad.

Course Type(s)
  • Online TEFL Courses
  • Just Text What's Up
Course Length(s)
  • Standard (120-140 hours), Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate Type(s)
  • TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Specialist Course(s)
  • Grammar
  • Miss J
    May 17, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I took the 160 hour course and I bought it through Groupon. I’m someone who had never used Groupon prior to this and I was a little skeptical about the low price of the class. However, everything went smoothly and I was able to begin my class a few minutes after the purchase. The course, while a bit long, wasn’t all that difficult. In fact, the most difficult part (for me at least) was the unit on Phonemics. Everything else was either common sense or could be found with a little bit of reading. The course did a great job on giving information about teaching English as a foreign language as well as interacting with your students. There were quite a lot of pages that had nothing but long blocks of text. They can look pretty daunting but once you get into the swing of things you’ll realize that you don’t have to necessarily read ALL of it. The graded assignments were usually only based off the main points covered in the readings. I gained a lot of knowledge from this course and would highly recommend to anyone else. Especially considering that it’s a $1000 course that’s being offered for crazy cheap on Groupon. *My advice: They give you plenty of time (75 days) so you don’t have to work on it everyday BUT don’t procrastinate! While I didn’t have to extend my course I did have to really crack down on it towards the end because I procrastinated a little too much. So take your time…just not too much time.*

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Thellie
    May 12, 2017 at 12:00 am

    Before I review, I should say that I bought the course (160 hours TEFL online) through Wowcher for £28. The full price is £500.Overall, mainly because of the price I paid, I was happy with the course. As I have never taught before, let alone teaching to non-native English speakers, I wanted to gain a certain amount of self-confidence from learning the basics for putting together lesson plans, general preparation, and brushing up on English grammar (I left school over 30 years ago).The aims above were largely achieved, and I passed the course with a 90%+ pass rate. This wasn’t difficult to do though, as the tasks are ridiculously easy for the most part. I thought initially, they were set to ease newcomers into the course comfortably, but the simplistic multiple choice and gap-fill tasks remained this way throughout. Those which were slightly harder were generally so because the question and/or answers were ambiguous.You are given 75 days to complete the course (which gives you just over 2 hours a day). I finished after 35 days, and that included at least 5-10 days without doing any work. I refrained from doing some of the example tasks, only really completing the tasks which were set for grading. This was because a) I have a full time job, so wanted to ensure I finished the course before having to pay (or not) an extension fee; and b) each of these tasks has another sheet with example answers anyway.There is a wealth of information, which I saved as PDF files as I went progressed, but have only printed out about 20 or so as hard copies for reference (Activity Banks, Needs Analysis, Week Planner, etc) to save on paper.The website itself navigates without too much difficulty, although the video section doesn’t work in Safari – I used Firefox instead. Considering it’s a course for teaching English, the text was littered with spelling errors. Apart from that it was just a bit slow and cumbersome, but I put that down to my internet connection up here in the wilds of northern Thailand.I have prepared my first lesson, and am delivering it this evening. The course has certainly given me some very good pointers, information, and confidence, which is all I was after.If I had paid £500, I would very likely feel ripped off, but for £28 it served its need.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sersa
    February 24, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I didn’t finish this TEFL course so I didn’t interact with any instructors or receive feedback. There are at least two different course types, and after previewing the other I realized I had signed up for the wrong one. I also signed up at a discounted rate, so I didn’t want to shell out for the better course. Still, in my limited experience, the website was difficult to navigate, there were several grammatical mistakes, and I found it very difficult to get through lessons in general. The video version of the course was much easier to follow and more engaging. I know that I am naturally an audio-lingual learner so at first I thought my failure was due to my own limitations, but I tried a different course in the same all writing format and found it much easier to pay attention to and get through. Still, one bonus is that the monthly email newsletters from this company were full of information about jobs and teacher experiences. But overall, not recommended.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Vicki
    September 2, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I feel like I got exactly what I expected from this course. Didn’t like the fact that you didn’t know whether your quiz answers were correct or not, but that wasn’t a big issue. Units seemed thorough enough and the section on lesson planning was fun. A good overview at least and that’s what I wanted. Got it on a Groupon and had to pay to extend as it took me longer to complete than I expected, but I would still say it was worth the money.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Cheri A Valentine
    September 1, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I was pleased with the course content of my TESL 120 hour program. The course content was very thorough and I needed to study to complete the course. When I had a problem with a lesson or even a technical one, my instructors and or technical person replied in a very timely manner and all my problems were fixed. I had no problem taking the exams and upon review, I was informed of my questions that were wrong and which answer was correct. I always refer to my Lesson Plan Guidance Book and suggestions in the course to help both me and my students to plan which subjects to teach in class every week. They love roll playing and games and I love teaching them.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Christine
    July 29, 2014 at 12:00 am

    The TESOL Express Online 120 Advance Certificate has a terrible course design. First, you do not receive any feedback (e.g., correct, incorrect) as a student and there is no indication of what is incorrect or correct when it comes to the answers you have provided. The only way to know if the answer you have provided is correct/ incorrect is by checking your grades. So, you can find out your scores in general, but you will have no idea which questions you answered correctly. Second, the “lesson” that are immediately before the tasks (which your grades are based on) provide limited examples and very little explicit explanation. Once you are on the task page, you may have to google additional information to support your answers. So, the lessons are literally useless. Finally, the pages are difficult to navigate because each section is separated in a discrete way with no filter or search option. When it comes to answering the questions, you will find yourself constantly clicking “back” and “forward” to search for relevant material. Finally, there are spelling mistakes and grammatical errors in almost every unit. These errors are easy to find and so, I personally believe the developers should really consider proofreading the course before they are published. This was a waste of my money.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Teflate
    January 31, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I took the Tesol Express 120 hour course.
    If you have zero experience in a classroom, this may be a good tool for you, as it does explain components of lesson plans, etc.I am a teacher and took this course so I could teach ESL students, so for me much of the content was useless. The content is extremely common sense (many of the questions in the quizzes are confusing and make little sense, but you can usually sort of guess what they want you to say). I found many of the quizzes frustrating as the entire course is extremely poorly designed. I can confidently say I learned nothing from them.Was it worth the $70 Groupon? Yes, just for the certification at the end. I wouldn’t suggest this course to anyone with teaching experience if they want to learn additional information.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Wolfson
    December 5, 2013 at 12:00 am

    The TEFL Express website is a giant mess. Tons of links give errors, and others prompt for passwords and leave sections inaccessible. The course itself was so poor that the entire thing could be filled out with common sense. If you ever had a teach before, you can fill out 90% of the coursework with no trouble at all. I finished the course with an 89% and easily at that. The only positive thing, is that it is an easy certification to show potential employers. I would only recommend it if you are looking for a foreign job that has specifically mentioned that it recommends having the course. Also, I would never recommend paying full price. Get it on Groupon if you want to get the cert.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • TESOLator
    July 13, 2013 at 12:00 am

    I took this course last year, and it’s a darn good thing it was on sale with a coupon, or I’d be really angry. I know nothing about the on-site course, but the distance program needs to be overhauled, and the people running it – from the main office to the people on facebook – should all be fired. Absolutely everything in their program is of poor quality, and looks like it’s a total ‘cut and paste’ production. I won’t go into the grammatical errors, poor service and the cheesy certificate you get when you finish, but read the other reviews (3 stars and below), and you’ll get the picture. The only good thing about TEFL EXPRESS is this: Those duped into purchasing and completing their program walk away with a keen sense of what a bad online program can be, and they -WE- know what questions to ask to avoid making that mistake again

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • now TESOL Certified
    May 30, 2013 at 12:00 am

    It is an online course with text and interspersed quizzes. I bought this cheap from Groupon and then extended it since the 75days were about to expire. This course is definitely a “what you put in you get out of it.” I am satisfied since my goal was to build my confidence in teaching english and the additional qualification of the certificate also looks good. Online courses are a challenge for me, I prefer learning in groups and having direct contact, and I knew what I was getting into. For the total $100 I spent (including the upgrade/extension to the 140hr Premium Course) I am satisfied. There are some spelling errors and formatting/web errors, which at moments I thought reflect a carelessness that doesn’t fit in well with a course on Teaching English. All in all the course was cheap, I got enough bang for my buck, and I am more confident now.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Facilities and Resources

  • Theo Edward
    May 16, 2013 at 12:00 am

    I read the complaints about the TESL 120 Advanced Certificate course before I purchased, and ultimately completed the course. If you are a person like me with a lot of experience and other credentials, the certificate is a wonderful padding on your resume/CV. If not, it is great to learn the course material as a warm-up for further TESL certification OR for a job or internship especially if you are young. All of the issue/ complaints concerning online usage never were a problem for me this spring. The content refreshed what I already knew and forced me to remember some fundamentals that I had long forgotten. I particularly enjoyed all of the material on lesson planning. The content is presented almost like it came off of the white board from an experienced head teacher with a MATESOL that was downloading all of the key points necessary for the hands-on teaching practitioner, and not for some linguistic theorists. Since this particular course is 100% online there is no evaluation which is available in other programs they offer. I’d recommend anyone taking the course to spend twice as long reading the material in order to get above 85% total which leads to the: “Graduated with ‘Distinction’” honor which appears in the center of an attractive blue ornate border and a red embossed seal– like the one “Oz” gave the “Scarecrow”?
    All concerns and questions and support were handled promptly by my overseer. Her name was Anna, and she was professional, kind, and courteous.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Angela
    October 26, 2012 at 12:00 am

    Attended a weekend express course, loved it, I will give them a full 5 out of 5. I couldn’t believe our teacher was so knowledgeable, really cool. The stuff that she has done and the info that she can impart with – going to help me a lot.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Robby
    October 8, 2012 at 12:00 am

    I was happy with their 120 hour advanced certificate program. As for the actual content I think it covered everything that I need and also gave me the confidence! There were shorter courses but this was the most cost effective.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

Add a review