Description

THE CELTA COURSE – THE BEST TEFL COURSE IN THE WORLD

Want a job that’s fun and rewarding with unlimited opportunities for travel, learning about different languages and cultures and working with people from all over the world? Well, you’ve come to the right place.

And if you do your research, you’ll notice that among all the certification programs to be an English teacher, the one name that keeps coming up again and again is the CELTA.  There is a reason for this; the CELTA, run by Cambridge University, is the gold standard of TESOL programs. And employers around the world are looking to recruit teachers who have the CELTA.

WHAT IS THE CELTA?

Whether you are looking to teach abroad or in the United States, the CELTA is the most widely known and highly respected training program for anyone who wants to teach English. Here are some important facts you need to know about the CELTA teacher training program:

  • The CELTA program is administered by Cambridge University, one of the most prestigious universities in the world.
  • CELTA stands for ‘Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages’
  • CELTA is the original TESOL/TEFL certificate course and has been running for four decades.
  • It is the most internationally recognized TESOL training program in the world.
  • It is the most highly regarded certification by employers in the U.S. and abroad and will help you land a teaching job in almost any location worldwide.
  • The CELTA course is a hands-on practical course based around real classroom teaching experience working with genuine English language learners. You not only learn about ESOL teaching methods, but you practice what you learn in a real-life classroom with guidance and feedback from your teacher trainer.

WHY DO THE CELTA?

You’re going to embark on a journey into a new career and whether you go on to teach for 9 months or 9 years, you’ll enjoy the experience so much more if you know what you’re doing.

This is exactly what the CELTA will do for you; it will give you the confidence, experience and know-how to teach good, effective lessons, which means both you and your students will enjoy them.

In this regard, the CELTA course stands out head and shoulders above other TESOL courses:

  1. The CELTA is strictly regulated by Cambridge University, who ensures the course tutors, the curriculum and the center adhere to its high quality standards. You can trust the quality of any Cambridge University CELTA course.
  2. CELTA teacher trainers are the best in the field of TESOL: they have years of teaching experience and have trained extensively to become a CELTA teacher trainer. Cambridge University prides itself on the quality of their approved trainers.
  3. On the CELTA course, no trainer is responsible for more than 6 trainees at any time. Therefore you always receive the individual attention and detailed feedback you need to learn and progress quickly as a teacher.
  4. Due to the value given to Cambridge University within the TESOL industry, and the role CELTA has had in training teachers for over four decades, no other course is as highly respected as the CELTA program nor will open as many teaching opportunities.

As you research online and learn about the exciting opportunities that await you, you’re probably feeling a little nervous. You’re ready to go out in the world and teach, but you’re not quite sure what to expect. Maybe you’re questioning if you have what it takes to do your job well.

Let us put your mind at ease. Here is what the CELTA course will do for you:

  • Provide you with the ability to take on teaching challenges with confidence
  • Train you with the skills and knowledge of TESOL fundamentals
  • Give you the hands-on experience of working with real language learners so you leave the course with teaching experience not just TESOL theory.
  • Help you find the best employment opportunities with competitive pay and benefits

When you finish your CELTA course, you won’t just have a prestigious certificate to show for it (though you most definitely will have a prestigious certificate). You’ll have the confidence and the experience to handle any classroom situation and you’ll have the tools to continue developing your skills. Whether you go on to teach business professionals, undergrads, adults or children, you will earn the respect of your students through your abilities as a teacher. And the most rewarding part of the CELTA course is knowing that all the hard work you put into the most respected and rigorous TESOL course in the world has resulted in smiling students who are motivated and inspired to work hard in your lessons, in positive feedback from your school director and having the confidence to walk into any classroom in any country and teach a great lesson.

TAKE THE NEXT STEP: APPLY TODAY

Armed with your CELTA certificate and a passion for adventure, you have a lifetime of adventure ahead of you. We invite you to learn more by reading about the real classroom experience, finding a course location that works best for you or applying online today.

About US

Teaching House is the largest CELTA teacher training center in the United States, offering this prestigious TESOL course in 15 cities across the country. We now have locations in Boston, New York (Manhattan), New York (Brooklyn), Philadelphia, Washington DC, Atlanta, Detroit, Chicago, Minneapolis, Houston, Salt Lake City, Phoenix, Portland, San Francisco and Los Angeles.As the most reputable and widely recognized TESOL/TEFL certification of its kind, the CELTA TESOL Certificate is the ideal certificate for anyone seeking specialized professional teacher training. Accepted both in the United States and abroad, teachers qualified with the CELTA TESOL Certificate can pursue positions teaching English to adults or young learners, Business English to professionals, or exam training for internationally-recognized tests like the TOEFL, IELTS or Cambridge exams.Teaching House tutors are highly experienced and qualified. Each trainer has years of experience teaching ESL, and each holds a CELTA and either a DELTA (Diploma in English Language Teaching to Adults) or a Master’s degree in Education. Our trainers combine a passion for training effective teachers and a dedication in assisting with employment post CELTA.Each course incorporates 6 hours of practical classroom teaching. These multilingual classes involve teaching real ESL students from the community, all from a variety of countries and ranging in age from 18 to 60. Our trainees teach classes of different levels ranging from pre-intermediate to upper-intermediate and cover grammar, vocabulary and skills lessons. As a teacher who has graduated from the CELTA TESOL course, you can be sure you will have the confidence to teach a range of different language lessons to a range of different language levels.Teaching House sets itself apart from other CELTA TESOL centers by continuing to provide professional help to our trainee teachers even after they’ve completed the course. We give lifelong career assistance and access to Teaching House resources to all our trainees.Whether you are pursuing a new career in teaching English as a Second Language, or are an experienced teacher seeking an accredited teaching qualification, the University of Cambridge Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults (CELTA) is the perfect qualification for you!Become CELTA certified – Apply TODAY!

Company Details
Main Office | Course Location

1 South Market Street Suite 4136 Boston, MA 02109

Course Type(s)
  • Combined TEFL Courses, On-site TEFL Courses
  • Just Text What's Up
Course Length(s)
  • Standard (120-140 hours), Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate Type(s)
  • TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Additional Feature(s)
  • Part Time Option
  • Anne Miller
    April 9, 2018 at 12:00 am

    Lesson plan guidance was indeed good but at times I found that it could have been a little more detailed. Pertinent information for finding jobs was given during class time but individual tutoring for job placement was somewhat lacking. It would have also been helpful if the requirements for different computer and telephone applications had been specified beforehand. The photocopying facilities were not very functional.The quality of the teaching was excellent. The amount of subjects covered and methods used during the course were above standard. Following the course, I feel prepared as a teacher and also interested in learning more. The staff, tutors and teachers were very friendly and helpful. In general the school was a very pleasant place to study and learn as well as being very centrally situated and easy to get to.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Pam Dimich
    April 9, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I successfully completed the CELTA certification offered at Teaching House in New York City, February 2018. The course was very thorough and intense. I had to work hard to complete all that was being asked of me. My tutors were very qualified, helpful, and supportive. I always felt like I had the support I needed to understand what I was expected to do and the encouragement to dig inside myself to see what I had to offer. I believe that the course adequately covered all aspects of TESOL.
    Another outstanding aspect of the Teaching House CELTA program is the opportunity to work with the international students. They came from all over the world and had varying motivations for learning English. Being able to work with these wonderful people was very rewarding.
    My only frustration with the course is that I felt like the handbook we were given was organized in such way that it was often a barrier. It was hard to find the information we needed at a particular time. And, if we were given additional material from the tutors, it was difficult to find a place to put it without it getting mixed up with different topics. I’d love to help someone reorganize the handbook so that it can be a more useful tool to students.
    I am so happy that I took this course and am so proud to have successfully complete it. Thank you to Crystal, Sarah, and Lauren (and Jackie).

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Dan McSweeney
    March 13, 2018 at 12:00 am

    This was an excellent course all around. I chose this course from the many that offer ESL training because it seemed to be more demanding and to offer a deeper experience than other courses – and it didn’t disappoint. I can’t say enough about it.It can be thought of as a four-week boot camp, and – fair warning – you really need to put as much of your outside life as possible on the back burner for the duration. (There is also a part time, ten-week course that provides exactly the same material.) The class consists of a maximum of twelve trainees. You’ll find yourself teaching two separate groups of students, each consisting of 12-16 people, and generally classified as Pre- and Upper-Intermediate. Thus, all of your students will already be able to speak at least basic English. So how do the days look? Very briefly, each morning consists of two “input sessions”, where trainees learn some particular aspect of teaching English. (Each course has two trainers, and they take one input session each.) The afternoon starts with a two-hour teaching session – ie, where you, the trainee teacher, teach live students who are there to learn English. Most days, three trainees will teach for forty minutes each, and you teach on alternate days. After the teaching session, the students you’ve taught go home, and the trainees remain for an hour or so to give each other feedback on what they’ve seen, and to receive detailed feedback from the course tutors. In the evenings, you either start looking ahead to your next lesson and sketching out how you will tackle it; or, if you’re teaching the next day, you develop the actual lesson plan. (You get detailed, individual help with this from a tutor on the day before you teach. You explain how you plan to approach your lesson, and he/she offers suggestions for changes, draws your attention to points you might not have thought of, and answers all of your questions.)Each lesson you teach focuses on some particular aspect of language learning, for instance: Grammar; Reading; Reading and listening; Speaking; Vocabulary; Writing. The course requires that you teach a variety of different class types. On top of this, there are four written assignments of varying lengths that have to be completed.Teaching House has many trainers, and they lead courses on a rotating basis. Our two were terrific, and I have to believe this would be true of all other trainers. Each has a lot of personal experience in teaching ESL, and has deep practical and theoretical knowledge to call on. I had never taught before and found the experience both scary and bewildering, and, especially in the early lessons, often felt like I’d completely blown my assignment. I think other trainees felt the same way. But every single time, the trainer we were with pointed out the positive aspects of our lessons, offered creative and helpful suggestions for what we might have done differently, reminded us that we were grappling with something often very foreign to anything we’d done before, and made sure we always left feeling good about ourselves. Standards are very high. The CELTA certificate is issued by Cambridge University (England), and detailed records are kept of the lessons you teach and your overall progress. Cambridge is protective of its brand and towards the end of the course, an outside assessor comes to observe a few lessons and to go over student portfolios. This is not in any way something to be worried about – it simply shows that Cambridge U. makes an effort to ensure that Teaching House is not diluting its standards in any way. In turn, this guarantees that your CELTA certificate truly represents something of value and is something you can be proud of.In case any of this sounds forbidding, please don’t be put off. The school wants you to pass, and the failure rate is extremely low. If you’re in any danger of failing, you’ll know it well in advance and you’ll be given every chance to work on whatever might be the issue. If you’re accepted into the class, then as long as you’re willing to put in the work, you’ll be fine.On a personal note, I took the CELTA class in order to kickstart a career change somewhat late in my working life (I’m in my sixties). I’d never taught before, and actually had hated school with a passion. It took quite a while before I became completely comfortable with teaching a lesson, but it was exhilarating when it finally happened. I really learned a lot. Clearly, in four weeks you’re just scratching the surface when it comes to teaching, but you get enough here to move right into a classroom and start teaching live students. If you think you might be interested in ESL, I can’t imagine there’s any better short-term introduction than what you’ll find here.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Cláudia Marina Leite Moreira
    March 6, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I’ve been an English teacher in Brazil for the past 10 years and I was feeling it was time I upgrade my CV. I heard about the Celta course from some colleagues and decided to enroll at the Teaching House School. It was an unforgettable month. The location is privileged and easy to access. The environment is excellent, they have a great library with significant books and the classrooms are well equipped. All the tutors are insightful, patient and thorough and they assist the students very carefully. Each has a unique set of knowledge and skills that are passed on to the students brilliantly. I acquired a new whole perception and cognition as a teacher and can’t thank my tutors enough. Not only I have a new certificate but also I made amazing new friends from all over the world!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Gregor
    December 21, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I completed the four week intensive CELTA this month. The course took place at Alliance Francaise/Goethe Institute in Atlanta’s Colony Square. Teaching House runs two intensive CELTA course a year out of this location and despite some issues with the facilities the convenience of the location was a bonus. I didn’t know what I was getting myself into when I signed up for the course but believe everything you read online. This is a very intensive course. You will not sleep much for four weeks. You will have a lot of homework and reading every night. You will bond with your fellow CELTA students, the English learners who attend so you can practice teaching and the tutors who steadily push you to learn and implement the CELTA syllabus. This was one of the most challenging and fulfilling courses I’ve ever taken. Be prepared. Do your research. Hope that you get two tutors as dedicated and thorough as we had in Atlanta. Recommended without reservation.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sean Michael Lozier
    November 16, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I was very impressed with Teaching House’s CELTA program for part-time students. The tutors did a great job explaining and demonstrating the various teaching methods they employ for different skills and systems, and provided a lot of constructive feedback. They also took some time to work with us individually while we learned the basics, even if it meant staying later than normal operating hours. They were extremely attentive and willing to answer questions, but were also strict and ensured we were doing the work ourselves.Highly recommended for those seeking a CELTA.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • James
    October 5, 2017 at 12:00 am

    Printers were challenging to connect to in order to print. Wifi issues sometimes made it hard to print out the required assignments, although most of the time Internet worked. The practice teaching sessions had a scarcity of students; one of the classes barely had enough students to qualify as a class. The facilities were used in the morning, so we couldn’t come in until 30 minutes before class, and we usually had to leave pretty soon after the end. We did have enough time to do everything, though it wasn’t as flexible. We also had to come in extra early one morning in order to watch the experienced teacher teach.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Rita Costick
    August 25, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I recently completed the CELTA training in Houston, Texas. What an incredibly rich and valuable experience! As a professional educator and trainer outside the ESL world, I have participated in numerous learning experiences. The quality of feedback from the tutors, Sarah Adams and Lauren Harrington, was exceptional in every way: thorough, descriptive, specific, constructive, and readily applicable to the next teaching practice. Throughout the course, every aspect of teaching the English language to adults was covered. No question from candidates went unanswered, no concern too small for discussion. I don’t know how the tutors had time to give so much to each of us and with such obvious concern for individual success. I certainly hope their pay reflects the amazing number of hours required to read every line written by 12 learners, each eager for the attention needed to fulfill his/her potential. I will always remember this unique four weeks: content, process, and most of all the wonderful people (tutors, fellow candidates, and language center staff) who made it such a powerful event in my career.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Hollie Conkle
    July 30, 2017 at 12:00 am

    The instructor support and guidance was phenomenal. The training I received will provide me with the skills I need to teach future ESL students. I will be grateful for these new skills and the intrinsic motivation I achieved through the completion of the program.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Maria
    January 19, 2017 at 12:00 am

    An intense course that focuses on your skills as a teacher. Even though I had ESL teaching experience prior to taking this course, I was challenged and enjoyed how practical and relevant to the ESL classroom the course and its materials were. Observed teaching is always nerve-wracking, but an exceptional way to improve as a teacher. I wish I had taken this course earlier in my ESL career!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Nadia Bucci
    January 8, 2017 at 12:00 am

    The course was really well planned. You can tell a lot of knowledge and experience in ESL are behind it. It was worth the effort and sacrifice, and I would do it again. I appreciated the environment and the hands on type of approach.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Robert Finnegan
    December 10, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I completed a CELTA course at Teaching House in December of 2015. As most already know, the CELTA is regarded as the most intense – and equally the most highly respected – TEFL certification. I am particularly glad I completed this course with Teaching House New York, and believe that it provides one with the best possible introduction to the TEFL world for the following reasons.The quality of the trainers I had at Teaching House made the course. The staff was very professional, personable, punctual, and funny. It was from simply observing my trainers and noticing their ability to balance professional expectations with genuine human interaction, that I gained the greatest insights into how to both enjoy teaching and how to be an effective teacher. The structure of the CELTA course itself will provide you with the professional nuts and bolts, but the trainers will ceaselessly model to you what a great teacher actually is throughout the course.Secondly, the location is great. Because Teaching House New York is in the middle of Manhattan, you will be teaching a very interesting and dynamic array of students from many parts of the world. The 60 or more students I worked with during my course included: students from Chile and China, young professionals from Japan and Mexico, an up-an-coming actor from Rio de Janeiro, an economics professor from Madrid, and a Turkish national on holiday who introduced our class to Turkish Delights. If nothing else this diversity in students makes for a fascinating course. But also, because my students ranged so dramatically in age, nationality, and native language, by the end of the course I genuinely felt prepared to TEFL in any location in the world. I’m not certain I would have felt the same had I completed my CELTA with a different company in a less global city. Although Teaching House does not focus on actually placing you professionally – as the CELTA course is about becoming a great teacher and not about how to best navigating the TEFL job market – the trainers do an excellent job of helping educate you in the TEFL world and pointing you in the right direction professionally.In short, I would highly recommend Teaching House New York to anyone who is seriously interested in investing the time, effort, and money into giving themselves the best possible introduction to TEFL.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Erica Hilleren
    November 10, 2016 at 12:00 am

    Lizzy and the other teacher trainers were fantastic during the CELTA course because they were approachable, knowledgeable, and organized. Their enthusiasm was contagious and hearing about their interesting experiences in this field have been useful in navigating my own journey through teaching ESL. The course is challenging and intense, but rewarding because of the detailed and useful feedback provided. I would definitely recommend this to teachers interested in teaching adults.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Marian
    September 10, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I took Teaching House’s CELTA course during the month of June 2016 in Phoenix, Arizona. Although the downtown site was not a permanent Teaching House location, a printer/copier, a projector and a laptop were available, and we were able to access the building wi-fi with our personal laptops or other devices. Teaching House also provided a small library of the essential texts needed throughout the course, and we were each provided with a binder containing much of the curriculum and all of the worksheets needed for the course. Any curriculum not included in this binder was presented in the form of lectures, handouts, demonstration lessons and videos. We used a single very large room for both our own ELT training and our afternoon practice teaching sessions, and we were generally onsite from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm. We had a lunch break of about 45 minutes during which we either went to a nearby restaurant or ate our own bag lunches. These were usually working lunches for most of us.Our small group of 6 candidates were encouraged and guided to bond as a professional unit, to support each other, to exchange ideas, etc. I continue to be in contact with most of them, with our 2 highly skilled and supportive trainers, and with several of the students who made our practice teaching possible.The most challenging aspect of the month-long course was completing the work in the time we had. I got much less sleep during the month than I usually do, even, somewhat, on weekends. This affected all of us, even the trainers, to a greater or lesser degree. For myself, I can see that I was having trouble prioritizing what I had to include in detail in lessons and what I could minimize. Even though I came to the course with over 30 years of ELT experience, this was all a fantastic learning experience for me. I was able to use what I already knew, seeing how it fit into the CELTA context, and add technique that I had never been trained in. At times, I was able to complement the official training (as were my less experienced co-trainees), and at other times I was able to benefit greatly from observing the efforts and progress of others.I have not yet applied for a new job with this new qualification, but I do believe that it will open doors to jobs that I would not otherwise be interviewed for. It should be well-worth the cost and the loss of sleep!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jalen Durham
    August 11, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the Celta course at Teaching House Atlanta. The instructors were superb and very helpful. My fellow trainees and I took time to help each other when needed. The students, though not actually controlled by Teaching House, were very easy to teach and were always asking questions and making us as the teacher stay on our toes. Overall, I enjoyed the course and already plan on taking the Celtyl and, hopefully, the Delta courses in the years to come.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jennifer Kindschi
    July 26, 2016 at 12:00 am

    Really my opinion of the quality of this Phoenix course stems from my experience with the instructors, Zach and Kim. They have a vested interest in wanting us to do well, and it shows in everything they do. There really isn’t time in this course for anything to go wrong, but of course they do. At those times, Zach and Kim simply pitched in to help get things done so that we could teach and get our assignments done on time.You will really find it beneficial to begin preparing for the course before it begins. Do the pre-course task thoroughly and brush up on your knowledge of grammar. Also, if you are a bit older and technologically challenged like I am, you will have added challenges to an already challenging curriculum. It really will make all the difference if you are aware of these things heading in.Since it had been so long since I’d last been in school, I’d forgotten how differently I learn from most people. This was a real confidence shaker for me, even though logically I know that my unique way of learning has nothing to do with my intelligence. Again, this is where having top notch instructors made all the difference. Never once did I get comments along the lines of “I told you that. It’s what we went over in class.” Clearly Zach and Kim have enough experience to recognize and work with all kinds of learning styles.Which is good, because the information and assignments fly fast and thick in this course. To the point of ridiculous. Whether this is necessary, and whether it is realistic to expect that all of that information can be truly absorbed when being doled out at such a fast pace, I’m really not sure. However, in the end, with hard work and good instructors/classmates, you will leave the class with the satisfaction of having survived it and with the certificate that employers seem to want. Good Luck!!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • T Jackson
    July 13, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I finished the CELTA course at Teaching House London. While this course was very intense and extremely challenging it was also one of the most rewarding things I have ever done. Due to unforeseen circumstances we had three different teachers on the course and while all three of them had differing styles all of them were professional, helpful and could not have been more enthusiastic in their desire to teach the art of teaching and gave constructive feedback. While I struggled with the pace of the course the teachers never faltered in being there to help. I do feel that five weeks instead of four would have been better or the pace of the first week spread out as the last week was not as intense. My only real suggestion to change the course would be a slight change in lesson plan guidance. As we were taught the importance of pairing in our practice teaching and did lots of pairing in our own course it would have been a good idea if we could have been paired once or twice to work with each other and compare lesson plans. Also lesson plan guidance tended to fall on the day of our practice teaching and it would have been better if it was the day before to aid us in having time to make real changes. Be prepared for an intense four weeks but it will be worth it. Some of the things i learnt only sunk in once I finished and am sure will become useful once I get started in my new career. Lizzy, Bobby and Ben were fantastic and the patience they showed teaching an old dog new tricks was more than admirable.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Ramona
    June 26, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I completed the intensive CELTA course in November 2014 at Teaching House New York. I found the course to be challenging, rigorous, a bit overwhelming at times but absolutely worth the money and tremendous effort. I learned so much about teaching methodology, how to create student-centered lessons and what to ask when looking for a job. Just having the CELTA, no matter your final grade, exponentially increases your chances of being hired. So many employers won’t even look at your resume without CELTA due to the incredibly varied standards of TEFL courses. The instructors, Lizzy, Robert and Shannon, were absolutely fantastic. Their feedback and critiques were invaluable and made me a better teacher in so many ways. They were helpful, knowledgeable and kept us in high spirits even when times were tough. I also learned so much from my fellow teachers in observation and feedback sessions. One of the best parts of the course was getting to know this group of teachers, helping each other with our lessons and offering encouragement. However, I do not recommend taking the intensive course; it was a bit too much in such a short period of time. You barely have time to catch your breath and let everything soak in between lessons. That may be my one and only regret when I look back at my experience. I highly recommend to anyone with a desire to teach ESL: save your money, set aside plenty of time to finish the course, eat and sleep as much as you can, do the pre-course task and study advanced grammar concepts before your arrival (I highly recommend “Practical English Usage” and “How to Teach English”, and most importantly, take the CELTA course at Teaching House New York!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • EMILIO TOMBINI
    June 20, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I live in London and decided to enrol for CELTA Teaching House at OHC -Oxford House College – London. It has been a fantastic, intense and rewarding experience: not only have I learnt a great deal about the latest teaching techniques, I also developed an extensive knowledge in terms of self analysis of my strengths and weaknesses. Input sessions have always been exciting, stimulating and intellectually challenging thanks to the high competence and professionalism of our Celta trainers whose patient guidance -and understanding- during lesson planning and constructive feedback helped me a lot to build up my confidence as a teacher. Students have been wonderful and reflected London’s wide diversity (a good occasion to practice different teaching techniques tailored to the variety of students). The College is also a lively point of reference for recent graduates like me (I completed the course only few days ago) for perspective job opportunities. Staff are very friendly and always ready to help (even to operate a…photocopy machine!).
    I definitely recommend CELTA at OHC for a unique life-changing experience, with wonderful people, in the heart of London!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Siraj Rafique
    June 11, 2016 at 12:00 am

    This was by far more challenging than any course I had previously done and my experience at University. In my opinion, the course wasn’t very difficult; it was just very intense and basically took over your life for that one month. You learn a huge amount in such a short space of time. I too had concerns before starting but It’s about putting the hours in, lots of late hours and hard work. If you don’t, you will fall behind and its very difficult to catch up. Having said that the course is very rewarding and life changing. I enjoyed it very much, it was an amazing experience! Everyday you’re learning something new, progressing and being given the essential tools to use immediately in the real world. It was fun, lots of teaching practice and constructive feedback to build your confidence. The students were really good and understanding. The staff and colleagues were very helpful and I especially learnt a lot from Lizzy and Ben. They were briliiant. They are still available to help even after the course with any questions you may have. I highly recommend Teaching House to everyone and would be happy to speak to anyone who has any questions or doubts.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Afiya Dalvi
    June 3, 2016 at 12:00 am

    Really enjoyed the course, it was very intensive for full-time but it is really worth it. I would definitely recommend it to others. Started off being unknown to it with a vague idea about the course but as the days goes on very quickly, no day was wasted. Everyday was learning something new and discovering something exciting. It was very challenging and motivating. From student to teacher in 4 weeks!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Rachael Cooper
    May 19, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I did a lot of research on CELTA courses before enrolling with Teaching House in London this year and I am very glad I chose them. The teachers were excellent, always there to answer my questions and to offer advice and the admin staff were helpful and friendly. I was taught by Lizzy and Brian and gained so much from their input sessions, which were both engaging and enjoyable. Towards the end of the course Lizzy offered one-on-one sessions on job prospects and what we could expect once we completed the course which was super helpful.The CELTA was well organised, on the first day of the course we were given our schedules showing us exactly when we would be teaching and what input sessions we would be attending for the entire 4 weeks. The course itself included writing assignments, attending input sessions, lesson observations and hands on experience of teaching. There was an emphasis on continuous development through feedback sessions and self-reflection and although the course is intensive, with the right mind-set and the support of the staff and fellow trainees it is a fun and fulfilling experience.Despite the heavy workload and long hours of studying and preparing for lessons, the CELTA at Teaching House was thoroughly enjoyable thanks to the great atmosphere and team spirit, even staff who were not directly involved with the CELTA were happy to help in the library with printers, looking for books and materials and offering advice and fresh ideas for lesson plans.I had a brilliant and rewarding experience on the CELTA, I met some lovely people and I learned so much about teaching English and a lot about my own strengths and weaknesses. I would whole heartedly recommend Teaching House to potential CELTA trainees.Good luck and enjoy your studies!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Shannon Horn
    March 22, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I attended and completed the CELTA course at the Teaching House in Chicago in Oct/Nov 2015. Prior to participating in this course, I had no previous experience teaching English. But because of the intensity, excellent quality, skill and expertise of the trainers (Heather & Erica) and the high standards maintained by Cambridge in the course itself, I have come away with a genuine awareness & understanding of effective principles and interactive methods for teaching ESL, self-awareness about my areas of strengths and weaknesses (areas for constant improvement), confidence in knowing how to plan & execute lessons, how to manage classrooms, and how to take lessons ‘off the page’ to develop interactive opportunities for the students, and real experience doing so in the classroom with learners at the pre-intermediate & upper intermediate learning levels. The trainers have a wealth of knowledge and ESL teaching experience, they are both skilled communicators, and they make the learning fun by demonstrating the teaching methods rather than just lecturing. This course provides real-life, practical classroom teaching experience. Not only that, but there is constant feedback from your peers & trainers to help you grow as an ESL teacher throughout the course. My one regret is that I didn’t complete the pre-CELTA course material they provided. Had I done so, there wouldn’t have been as steep a learning curve during the month long course with regards to the CELTA-specific teaching acronyms/language and recalling English grammar.This course is not easy and requires a commitment from the participants to apply themselves to get the most from the course. There is a lot of learning that takes place in a short time and teaching starts on day 2, so it is essential that course participants come in knowing that it will be intense and being prepared to put in the work necessary to do well. For those who are serious about pursuing teaching in ESL and who want top notch training & experience in interactive teaching methods & frameworks, I HIGHLY recommend this course! You not only come away as a certified ESL teacher, you also have access to an incredible amount of resources for your career that follows.

  • Tuanni
    March 17, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I took the Celta course in Teaching House and I recommend it to other students for many reasons. The instructors were really good and helped me a lot to go through this very intensive course. They gave all the information and support I needed to do a good job. The material given to us was very helpful because it covered everything that was taught in the classroom, but without the excellent well trained instructors, the course wouldn’t be as good as it was. I learned a lot about techniques to use while teaching to be a better educator, specially for ESL teachers. Celta was very important in my career because it opened many doors as an English teacher. I recommend every ESL teacher to take this certificate in Teaching House.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Lewis
    March 2, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I’m very glad I did my four-week CELTA course at Teaching House. The trainers brought a wealth of knowledge and years of experience to make for a very robustly run course. The programme was comprehensive, the teaching practice feedback was honest and fair and the trainers, along with all other members of staff, were very supportive. I highly recommend doing the CELTA with them.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • OHC NOV2015
    March 1, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I completed the CELTA in London in the November of 2015 and i can’t stress how intense and difficult the month was however the instructors guided me, and i think i can speak for the whole group, fantastically. The support available was second to none and the teaching of the course content was achieved in such a varied technique which made every other day different and interesting.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Georgie Brookes
    January 21, 2016 at 12:00 am

    Wow! I can’t emphasize enough how intense that was but so rewarding! The input sessions were really hands on and insightful. Tutors used the techniques that we use as teachers on us so we could experience learning as our students do. The main advantage of the CELTA over other TEFL courses out there is of course the teaching practice – you teach for a total of 6 hours to real-ESL students. Planning those lessons takes up the majority of your time outside of class but the tutors were all so helpful – both during the scheduled lesson planning meetings and also after class. I am so grateful I decided to take the course with Teaching House. The location is super convenient and the facilities are great – though the printer didn’t always cooperate, there was always someone around to help. The teacher trainers are so knowledgeable, patient, funny and really pushed me to be the best teacher I could be in just 4 short weeks. The feedback was always supportive but so detailed and full of useful practical suggestions to make my teaching better. This course is great for teaching English but a lot of the content could apply to teaching any subject. I wish some of my teachers at school had taken the CELTA!! After this course, I feel ready and prepared to go out and teach my own classes and I’m inspired to travel and teach.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • kaliyaabdi
    January 8, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I completed the course November 2015. I was very skeptical about joining the course as I never taight before. Prior to joining Oxford House College, I spoke with one of the trainers that interviewed me and I informed them that I have a fear of speaking in public. She assured me that this is very common and by the time I complete this course the fear will be gone. Let’s just say now I know why this course is called intense, there is no room for any sort of socialising or relaxing. I endured every emotion possible, from tears, anxiety, frustration and laughter. Even though it was very intense, what I loved about Oxford House college was the support we received from the trainers and students. I learnt a lot about myself during those four weeks, believe me when I tell if you can complete this CELTA course, you can overcome any challenges life throws at you. The first day of teaching my fear of public speaking was gone and now I am unstoppable thanks to the trainers. The moment I knew I made the right choice is when I taught lower-intermediate and one student who does not speak English well, came to me a few days later and told me he loved the writing class I taught. He gave me a report he attempted on his own and I was proud of him and proud of myself . That was a confidence boost, the more compliments I got from the students, the more I wanted to teach. I wish fellow future CELTA teachers the best, you may want to give up during those four weeks, but that feeling you get when you complete the course is undescribable.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Zubedha Hafiz
    January 2, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I completed my CELTA at OHC London during the summer. The course was intense but a really good putting teaching into practise and brushing up on the theory behind it all. By the end of the second week I was offered a placement in a prominent country with fantastic perks purely based on being a Teaching House student. The teachers were fantastic and extremely supportive. Always ready to challenge you into working harder and bettering yourself. If you are considering this course I would encourage you to take it up. You’ll be pushing new limits and forget to eat but in the end it’s worth it!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Connie K.
    January 2, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I completed my CELTA at Teaching House Chicago in Nov. 2015. I think it was an excellent course. I obtained a wonderful perspective with regard to my role as a teacher/faciliator in an ESL class. The CELTA frameworks and tools are very effective not only in an ESL class, but really any type of instructional situation. That in itself made the course worth the money. I was very appreciative of the amount of practice teaching we did and the fact that I was teaching actual ESL students. It was a very effective, rewarding dynamic. For me, the class was intense, especially the first 2.5 weeks. Not only was it a lot of work, but a lot of new information had to be assimilated as well. Worth it, but intense, for me anyway. I believe my tutors really wanted us to be the best possible teachers we could be, and wanted to impart as much information regarding theory, practice and feedback to their students as was possible. The office was well run and well organized and very easy to access.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Aileen Suresh
    December 30, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I agree with the previous reviews in terms of high quality for feedback, for the London branch at OHC. The instructors are different in personality which is a good thing to have- the best of both worlds! The instructors are definitely the main asset to the school, pushing and motivating you, but by not compromising your personal style as a teacher. The assessments were nicely spread out. The only thing I would say as a warning is to try and print your materials for your lessons at home, or at least a day before your lesson. With everyone such as Celta Delta students and the schools teachers competing for the 2 printers/photocopiers, rushing and running around, it is always best to have your materials at the ready before you actually need them. Of course the the course itself is going to be stressful regardless of where you do the CELTA, but here you are at least going to have some fantastic tutors and support.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Stephen Erickson
    October 14, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I took the CELTA class at Teaching House Chicago from July to August of 2015 and it was absolutely worth the effort and the money I invested in it. I already had three years of classroom experience in the USA, Ecuador, and Colombia, and initially enrolled just to have the certificate to further my career, but I learned much more than I had anticipated. From using English coursebooks before I had a sense of what to do in the classroom, but never really grasped why I was doing it. I skipped over some of their suggestions thinking they were unnecessary or redundant, but I now understand why all these substages to a lesson are critical for maximizing student involvement. Observing the other teachers was also a very illuminating experience, and it became abundantly clear that what we were taught in the morning is actually effective when put into practice, and also what habits should be avoided as they drain the life out of the class. Heather and Erica were great tutors; I learned a lot about classroom management, lesson planning and staging, and the English language itself. They pushed me to improve myself and try new teaching strategies, but at the same time were very supportive and the environment between tutors, teachers, and students was very positive. I really feel I am a better teacher for having taken this course, and also have a better understanding of what makes a successful ESL teacher so that I can self-assess and continue to improve on my own. I strongly recommend the CELTA and Teaching House for both new and experienced teachers.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Laura
    August 26, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I very recently completed my CELTA course at Teaching House Chicago. It was a fantastic experience and the instructors at TH Chicago are absolutely wonderful. Heather and Amy are both extremely helpful, and offered some great experiences and insight into the ESL world. I will say that it wasn’t quite as difficult as everyone touts it to be, though you will definitely be busy each night. Just allot time each night for your work, including lesson planning and assignments, and you’ll do fine. Don’t stress out about it.The instructors are patient and are happy to help you with any and all questions about tasks and lessons. You will have support from them and everyone else in the course. Both your fellow teachers and the tutors give wonderful and constructive feedback, and I found the input sessions to be very informative.It was truly a great experience – I have had no prior experience with teaching, so this was truly my first time, and I’ve come out of it so much more prepared. If I had gone to a foreign country to teach before taking this course, I can only imagine the carnage! Now I feel much more confident – I have no doubt I can lead a class after taking this course. Highly recommend this course for people who are new – it taught me so much.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Devon
    May 14, 2015 at 12:00 am

    Make sure you have a deep background in English Grammar prior to starting the course. If you don’t, you will be lost in all the grammar terminology. The course itself is far too time and energy consuming to orient yourself with the mechanics of grammar while in the middle of it and you will constantly be playing catch-up. This can be quite draining. TH (at least the one where I took the course in New York) does not emphasize the importance of this before the course starts They say they don’t because the course is designed for those who have no prior English teaching experience but believe me, it’s not.Some material will be sent to you prior to the start of the course. Put everything else in your life aside and do it, especially the Grammar for Teachers – they will only suggest, not tell you specifically that it’s in your best interest to do it if you have no previous English teaching experience. Their position on that is that they can’t tell anyone to do it because it’s not assessed for the CELTA certificate requirements but it helps a great deal if you know it beforehand. As I said, there is no time to orient yourself with it all once the course starts and the instructors won’t go over it. You’re expected to know it going in so they can teach you how to teach it to students, NOT to be taught it yourself. The course is intense and knowing your stuff before starting it could mean the difference between a “Pass” and a “Pass A” or “B”, and for a price tag of over $2500, you’ll want all the help you can get.When I brought this up to my instructors, the responses I got ranged from an obligatory “right, I’ll bring that up in the staff meeting” to one of them actually blaming me for what I honestly perceived to be shortcomings of the program. Needless to say, I didn’t appreciate that for being asked for my feedback. Also, their job seeking counseling session is a bit going-through-the-motions. Nothing a Google or LinkedIn search wouldn’t provide. Naturally, the bulk of finding any job is on you.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Angie
    March 25, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I enjoyed my time learning at Teaching House very much and would highly recommend it! Although there were many experience levels, everyone was equally challenged and encouraged to improve. The work load was intense, but it was very much worth the effort. Clear your schedule, focus and do it – the teachers are incredibly supportive, available and always make time for your questions (although their schedules are hectic). They also shared many stories about their experiences teaching abroad, which were very encouraging!We began to teach on the second day of class, and one teacher and your classmates give feedback after each lesson. Different teaching styles and receiving tips from one another to overcome various challenges was very helpful, and you become quite comfortable with your students, classmates and teacher in the room while you are teaching.Another great aspect of the course is that the content was not solely relevant for teaching English, but teaching in general.The course flew by and is really not bad as far as the load, just put in the work and put a smile on your face!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Ben Garcia-Spitz
    March 4, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I had a great experience getting my CELTA from Teaching House Chicago. The instructors and staff were very helpful and knowledgable, the facilities modern and conveniently located, and the students from a diverse range of professional and cultural backgrounds.I would highly recommend this center to students considering getting their CELTA in and around the Chicago area.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Doug
    January 21, 2015 at 12:00 am

    This was a rigorous course of study and one which required a strong and large commitment of time and work. The instructors were ‘top-notch.’ They well knew their material and knew how to convey it in a very usable and understandable manner. Heather & Shannon get high marks from me for their talent. I am appreciative of their abilities and talents and would recommend this course and this location (Teaching House, Chicago, IL., State St.) to anyone with a sincere and strong interest in seeking out the best possible instructors for this program.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Valerie
    November 23, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I found out I was moving out of the US and quickly realized I needed to figure out what I would be doing next. I knew teaching English was definitely a possibility, but I had never taught before. I found The Teaching House Chicago online and then found out that getting my CELTA would be the best option. I signed up and was sitting in class 1 month later. What a crazy awesome experience! I learned so much in such a short period of time. The instructors, Heather and Colleen, are amazing, and my colleagues taking the CELTA along with me were the most helpful and encouraging. Academically speaking, this is the hardest I have ever worked. Expect to work 4-5 hours at night beyond your class time. You have to stay organized. You have to be focused like never before, but the reward of finishing this course is worth every second of stress and pain. I can’t say enough about this course… and the people you will meet. The Chicago facility is close to all train lines, it’s clean and the faculty are great! I highly recommend Teaching House Chicago.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Victoria
    November 16, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I attended the Teaching House in Chicago during the summer of 2014 and it was wonderful. The teacher trainers where extremely thorough in their feedback and help and they continue to help you and give advice about job searching even after the program has ended. They really know what they are talking about and are very experienced. I learned amazing things from the trainers at Teaching House Chicago. If you are willing to learn and ready to work hard and prepared for it all to pay off, join the Teaching House Chicago, you won’t be disappointed.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Chris Gallet
    October 27, 2014 at 12:00 am

    Not sure where to start here. Well, this review is looong overdue. First of all — YES IT IS ABSOLUTELY WORTH THE MONEY! I did the CELTA at the Teaching House Chicago in March 2014. In June, I moved from Chicago, where I had lived for 8 years, to Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. I’ve been here 3 months and I couldn’t be happier. In fact, I just convinced my friend from University to take the CELTA with TH in Chicago. What an amazing time I had doing the CELTA. It was incredibly challenging, but so very rewarding. I formed really strong bonds with a group of amazing people. Now we’re all over the world putting our intense education to good use. So cool to look back and think about how much I learned in that month. The tutors are so wonderful and supportive. The ESL community is tight, and they really do want to see you succeed, because they truly know, from many years of living and working abroad themselves, just how awesome the experience can and will be. It will be hard, but don’t shy away from the challenge and you’ll be just fine. The school director, Heather, is such a wonderful person – intense, but really caring and FULL of knowledge about everything you’ll ever need to know about working in ESL or living abroad. Seriously, get on her good side and stay on it. By visiting the Teaching House even after the course was over, I got to know her better and she helped me land my first two jobs. She recommended me for a job at a prestigious language school in Chicago where I worked for 3 months, and she gave me a recruiter’s info at the school I work for now in Vietnam. Lastly, my main concern during and even after the course was about whether or not I’d be able to find a job. The answer is 10000% yes, there are so many ESL jobs everywhere. Get a CELTA and the world is your oyster. Good luck!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sam
    September 12, 2014 at 12:00 am

    Wow. Where to start? First and foremost, I suppose it has to be said that taking the CELTA at Teaching House New York was one of the most intense, difficult, and fun experiences I’ve ever had.Time and energy wise, the four week intensive course was one of the more exhausting things I’ve ever done; indeed, I’m relatively certain that the course kept me busier than I’ve been at any point since high school. However, these time and mental commitments were more than made up for; to put it simply, I learned more than I would ever have thought possible. Techniques, lesson planning, elements of the English language, personal delivery, interaction, use of materials, even how to write effectively on a white board – every aspect of how to be a good instructor was not only discussed, but also practiced and assessed.On the subject of assessment, furthermore, I would be quite remiss if my stellar tutors went unmentioned. Both of my instructors, Lizzy and Erin, were nothing short of incredible. Personable, knowledgable, and most of all, extremely perceptive, they not only gave phenomenal lessons, but also guided myself and my fellow teachers through lesson planning with just the right amount of support for each stage of the course. Most importantly, however, they provided phenomenal feedback after each teaching practice.The practical aspects of the course were, by its very nature, something of a mixed bag. I found that an oddly summer camp-esque dynamic developed between the students, as we were together nearly every waking hour for four weeks. Even when not at school, furthermore, we were often in communication as we struggled to complete the heavy load of lesson-planning and written assignments that dominated our evenings. While my classmates happened to be some of the most awesome people I’ve ever met, I’ve heard tell of groups that were not so fortunate in a melding of personalities – if you’re not such a people person, thus, beware!Facility wise, while beautiful and modern, Teaching House New York had two glaring problems – the lack of a second copier/printer (to call the one they have “finicky” would be a massive understatement) and the lack of a student lounge (I just wanted a place to make tea! How can an English university satellite not have a kettle?!?). That being said, however, Lizzy and Erin were always extremely understanding regarding the printer, and would always accept assignments and lesson plans a little late if it was acting up. All in all, I learned a simply stunning amount in an extremely short time. I feel that the proficiency of my teaching, techniques, and knowledge of the English language increased more than I can say. While there was no actual job placement, due to classes regarding the subject, I feel that I’m now extremely prepared to find and get a great position in ESL. If you’re thinking about taking the CELTA, have a month to commit to it completely, and are truly interested pursuing ESL, I can’t recommend this course enough!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jacob Algrim
    June 13, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I did a part-time, ten-week course. This seemed much more preferable than the five-week crash course.
    It was a great course and I certainly learned a lot. There was some frustration as it was organized in a manner that didn’t make a lot of sense to me, and the mass amounts of handouts became difficult to contain. Having it all printed in an organized book would have helped me, but I realize that isn’t really possible.
    It was a good course offering a great certification and I feel better-prepared to begin a job as an English teacher. I had received two job offers before I even finished the course, one of them being exactly what I was hoping for.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • AJ
    May 18, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I took the CELTA course at Teaching House Chicago Mar-Apr 2014.Overall experience: completely satisfied. This course was phenomenal. Extraordinary. Exceeded expectations. The skills I developed during this course are relevant to all aspects of my life—professional and personal—and I could not be more grateful to Heather and her team for pushing me to be my best self… and then some. The CELTA provides a solid foundation for teaching success, and I can see myself applying the methods not just to teaching English but other subjects as well. Moreover, there really is nothing better than watching experienced teachers practice the craft. It gave me an opportunity to notice techniques and “tricks” that I could then carry over to my own teaching, anything from effective error correction to pitfalls to avoid in any classroom management situation. The practice teaching and group feedback approach are what make the course so stellar. I thought I had understood all the basic concepts of group feedback, but CELTA takes it to the next level.Lastly, the CELTA staff goes above and beyond helping with the career search, which I’m still in the process of, but I have confidence with the preparation and guidance I’ve receive. Thank you Teaching House!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

Add a review