Description

Our CELTA Courses

Our four week intensive CELTA course is designed to prepare participants to become English language teachers.  The Cambridge CELTA is one of only two qualifications recognized by the British Council. This means it has maximum acceptance worldwide.  We run courses throughout the year in central Barcelona.  Our friendly school in Barcelona has everything you’d expect from a modern teacher training centre, an extensive library and a large garden, and is centrally-located, next to Passeig de Gracia.

The CELTA course is highly practical and includes supervised teaching practice and feedback with real students in our language centre from the first week.  Input sessions and workshops center on such areas as language awareness, lesson planning materials and methodology.  Take advantage of our careers, visa and accommodation service and join our community of teachers, trainers and graduates!

Our Trinity CertTESOL and DipTESOL Courses

  • Minimum 7 hours teaching practice (6 hours observed)
  • Dynamic workshops and input sessions
  • Visa and careers support – before, during and after the course
  • A prestigious, internationally recognized qualification (CELTA equivalent)
  • A positive, dynamic and supportive learning environment
  • World-class, experienced tutors
  • Small groups and friendly atmosphere
  • Free 20-hour introduction course

Our Trinity-accredited TEFL Certificate course is for people who want an internationally-recognized qualification and an up-to-date and practical course of teacher training. The course runs all year round and prices start from just €1200. Choose from London, Malaga, Cadiz or Kerala (India).

What can I expect?

Introduction course

Once enrolled in the course we will give you access our course introduction task which is designed to raise your awareness of teaching methodology, grammar and phonology of English. The task is completed online and will take around 15-20 hours.

Teaching Methodologies

You will learn a variety of teaching methodologies to use with your students during the course and after you graduate. We provide workshops, tutorials and video content as well as reading materials to help you understand and use these techniques.

Teaching Practice

The practical nature of the course is emphasized from the very beginning. You will be in small groups (3 or 4 trainees with one tutor) and you will begin teaching real adult students in the first week. After each class you teach, there will be a feedback session with your tutor and fellow trainees. For our trainees, this is usually the most fun part of the course!

Grammar and Language Awareness

We believe in learning through involvement and in your grammar and language awareness sessions you will mostly experience a workshop approach, where your tutor acts as a “facilitator/animator” rather than as a lecturer.

Observations of Experienced teachers

You will also observe some of our tutors so that you can see first-hand how experienced teachers plan and deliver classes, providing further insights into lesson planning, staging and management.

Class Materials and Technologies

All of our classrooms are equipped with modern technology and we encourage the use of Youtube, interactive online teaching platforms (kahoot, quizlet etc) and social media alongside the use of books and other more traditional activities. The school has a wide variety of resources available to you to use to help create engaging classes for your students.

One-to-one Lesson Preparation

One-to-one classes are in high demand and during the course you will complete a needs analysis, prepare a lesson and then teach a one-hour class to a single student. After this, you will write a journal where you will reflect and evaluate the success of your classes.

Learn an Unknown Language

During the TEFL Certificate course, you will participate in four language lessons in a language you have no prior experience of, taught completely in the language itself without recourse to English. This helps you put yourself in the position of a low level learner of English and to experience communicative language teaching at first hand. Languages taught on past courses have included Greek, Hindi, Swedish, Welsh, Romanian and Japanese. These sessions are challenging but fun!

Preparation for finding work

Our careers advisor will provide a session on finding work after your course and you will be given expert advice on preparing your CV which highlights your background, education, experience and skills. You will be able to meet our careers advisor as many times as you like during and after the course. See our careers service page for more information.

You are assessed in the following ways:

  • Teaching Practice Journal
  • Unknown Language Journal
  • Learner profile assignment
  • Materials assignment
  • 60-minute language awareness exam at the end of your course

For more information about assessments during the course..

Download the CertTESOL syllabus

It is not necessary to have a degree, to be a native speaker of English, to be able to speak a foreign language, or to have any previous teaching experience. To be considered for this course, you will need to:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be motivated to teach
  • Demonstrate your ability to cope with the academic demands of the course eg. a university degree (in progress or finished) or work experience.
  • Have at least a C1 level of English (advanced). Your level of English will be measured via the interview process and a short written task.
  • Have good enough health to deal with the demands of an intensive course of training, travel and working abroad.

 

Company Details
Main Office | Course Location

Carrer de la Diputació, 279 Barcelona Barcelona Spain 08007

Course Type(s)
  • Combined TEFL Courses, Online TEFL Courses, On-site TEFL Courses
  • Just Text What's Up
Course Length(s)
  • Standard (120-140 hours), Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate Type(s)
  • Trinity CertTESOL, Cambridge CELTA, Trinity DipTESOL
Specialist Course(s)
  • Content and Language Integrated Learning (CLIL), Professional Development, Teaching Business English (BE), Teaching Exam Preparation, Teaching Young Learners (YL)
  • Claudia López Costa
    June 17, 2018 at 12:00 am

    *Oxford TEFL Barcelona*Instructors are experienced and competent, always ready to help. I had Anna and Regina as tutors for the teaching practice section of the course and their feedback was very constructive. Corinne, from Career Services has a database of schools to help you get a job after completing the course, and she also helps with your CV and mock interviews. I also had Cat for the unknown language project and some input sessions. She was also super helpful when giving advice about teaching in general. I would definitely recommend Oxford House in Barcelona to get your certification. Knowledgeable instructors, constructive feedback, readiness to help, well connected career services, great environment, friendly staff, and nice facilities (with a kitchen and outside garden for those of you on a budget bringing your lunch to school).

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Felix charron
    June 9, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I started this course with a fear to give presentations in front of people. I finished this course feeling very confident giving classes to all types of classes! I was trying to find clients to give private classes before the course and couldn’t find any. Only one week has passed since I finished the TEFL course wih Oxford and I already have 3 different clients for private classes!

  • Ryan m
    May 25, 2018 at 12:00 am

    Really great school with amazing teachers/staff. I am brand new to teaching English so it was a bit difficult for me to do some of the more advanved grammar lessons. However, the teachers prepared me for what I needed to do. Everyone is very caring and knowledgeable and those are the two things that matter the most in my opinion. Oxford House in Barcelona is a great place. The facilities are so clean and you will always have resources/help available. I was tempted to put a 4-star rating for job placement but that wouldnt be fair. The only reason it crossed my mind was because I found a job on my own very quickly. Corinne, the career advisor is very helpful and polite so if you need job placement she will help you. Anna and Regina really helped me grasp the main concepts of teaching and they were both honest, which is important when learning. Some other programs might augar coat things, but they tell you what you need to know. Thanks everyone. Anna, Cat Sam, Regina, Fran, Corinne, Emma…and anyone I forgot.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • SYED ADNAN RAZA
    May 18, 2018 at 12:00 am

    My experience of studying at OXFORDTEFL was extremely wonderful. I was provided proper guidance, help, and support from all the staff members. The course helped me to improve my teaching, writing better lesson plans, integrating pronunciation in my lessons and understanding the potential problems of the learners. The course was extremely challenging and provided with a huge chance of improving teaching skills. I am extremely thankful to Nicola, who pushed me, encouraged me and supported me with my every step. Duncan was also equally helpful and supportive. All the people teaching and working at OXFORDTEFL didn’t let me feel for a single moment that I am not in my country or among my people.
    I recommend all the teachers to take a course at OXFORDTEFL and enjoy the real taste of teaching in very friendly and supportive atmosphere.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Simon Ashmore
    February 13, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this course. But be prepared… It is very intense. Your days are split between teaching practice (two to four times a week) and input sessions.The approach is inductive and very much based on developing the skill of reflecting on what you have done well and what you have done and could be improved – a skill to take into teaching practice.You will have two tutors. This is great because you get to see different styles of teaching and feedback. The feedback is fantastic and, whilst noting areas to improve, is always framed to help and support you in your learning and development.I have not rated the job placement category simply because it is too soon. But the careers service seems to be very professional and is a service one can use for life.The location is very central and the building is light and airy.Be aware that you need to be on top of your paperwork, assignments, etc. This was my only little gripe – there was so much information on the first day that we all missed things that would have lessened the stress in the final fews days.Having said that, I am happy to recommend this school if you want to move into the TESOL industry. But don’t think that you will have much time to enjoy Barcelona during the course. It is an immersion from the first day and to get the most out of it you will need to be very committed.Thoroughly recommended

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sam Lane
    January 1, 2018 at 12:00 am

    On the whole the course is good and I enjoyed it. The lesson practice was good and provided me with some very necessary experience. However, the input sessions sometimes felt out of order and it would have been nice to have had some of them before starting to teach.I understand why the ULJ is done at the start of the course, and why it is done full stop, but this time before starting to teach could also be used to go over some useful topics.The resources were very useful, although the careers service sometimes felt like it was lacking a bit. There doesn’t seem to be any drive to individually help people, just generic blanket attempts to place everyone.The tutors were very good, and the quality of their feedback and the input sessions was very high.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Duong Thi Ngoc Hai
    January 1, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I was really happy to be a trainee teacher at the Oxford House in Barcelona. Things were really nice, useful, helpful, informative and supportive. The staff were super friendly and helpful every time being asked to help us. The most important thing was what we have achieved after the course. There were a lot of works in only one month but what we have learnt would never fail us. I would love to introduce the Oxford TEFL to anyone who wants to be a teacher. We’ve learnt how to be a real teacher who could put himself/herself in students’ shoes and plan a lesson from his/her heart then teach students what they really need to learn. Thank you <3

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jake Fletcher
    January 1, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I really enjoyed this course. I hadn’t done anything similar to it before, but feel that the teaching practice really helped in preparing my for teaching in the future. The workload is heavy, but it has to be to fit the course into the 4 week schedule, I feel that after managing the workload of assignments, lesson planning and teaching I am confident with teaching classes when I am working. This course really confirmed to me that teaching is the right vocation for myself, I mainly accredit this to the vast opportunities to teach on the course, something that not all TEFL courses offer. I’d recommend this course to anyone wanting to teach English abroad, as not only is it great preparation, but it is a great qualification from Trinity College

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • SluOcon
    December 29, 2017 at 12:00 am

    This was one of the worst experiences I’ve had with a school of any kind. I cannot describe a more disorganized and disrespectful group of people. When talking to anyone at the school, they try and sell you on the program versus telling you what to actually expect. The program could be completed without half of the pointless busywork assignments they assign, and barely even review. Basic check marks next to paragraphs, which means if I had just written the words “mickey mouse” over and over, it would have been a ‘pass’. The most worrisome thing about the entire program is I paid well in advance, and this was tied to my VISA, but when I showed up for the first day of school, they didn’t have me registered. When I finally spoke to Fran, she was incredibly rude, rolled her eyes at me while I was in tears, and yelled financial information in front of a room of people when I asked to speak to her privately. Additionally, they had my name spelled incorrectly on all of my Visa paperwork and I had to reschedule my appointment to wait for the correct paperwork. The entire program is a farse, and I wish I would have gone anywhere else but here.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • J Ott
    November 5, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I would highly recommend Oxford TEFL and the Prague location to anyone considering TEFL. The course gives you plenty of teaching opportunities and the feedback given to you by your tutors is very helpful. I came in with a little teaching experience, but was never really trained. After completing the course (actually today is my last day), I feel I could walk in to most teaching or tutor jobs with confidence. You may hear people discussing the work load, but as long as you stay on top of your assignments, it is not overwhelming. Certain grammar aspects are a weakness for me, but they teach you what you need to know. Of course, you really only need to know what you are teaching on your next lesson. They do offer great job placement assistance. I will be taking advantage of that in a couple of months!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Molly
    November 3, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I have virtually nothing bad to say about the TESOL course at oxford house, I thought the teaching was a really high standard, it was well structured and I felt supported the whole way through. I would recommend OH for anyone thinking of doing a TESOL course.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Erika
    November 2, 2017 at 12:00 am

    It was an extraordinary experience to participate in this course! Difficult some times because there is a lot to learn and the course is intensive, but to finish it was really rewarding, I feel now prepare to continue the path I chose, so thank you for all the knowledge you share, feedback and dedication. Thank you for being available to help when I needed you and for creating an effective learning area for new teachers.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

Add a review