Description

About Coventry House International – OnTESOL

We are the first accredited online TESOL institute in Canada and the first online TESOL institute in the world to offer a supervised in-class Practicum module!

Coventry House InternationalCoventry House International has been in the Teacher Training field since 1988 with the objective of delivering the highest standards of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) education. Organizations such as Trinity College London, TESL Canada, and ACTDEC have recognized and accredited Coventry House International TESOL courses over the years.

OnTESOLOnTESOL is an off-spring of Coventry House International and is the result of its members’ goal to contribute to education in general and, more specifically, to TESOL in an online format. All the online courses offered by OnTESOL were designed to meet the highest standards and be eligible for TESL Canada accreditation. TESL Canada has recognized our online courses since 2003.

Over the years, OnTESOL has raised the bar of the TESOL / TEFL / TESL industry by perfecting the Communicative Language Teaching method. We are also one of the few institutes that provides graduates with the opportunity of completing a Practicum module after the online course! Our best online courses are the Advanced 120-hour TESOL Certificate, which is academically equivalent to CELTA, and the 250-hour TESOL Diploma, which is a great example of how an online program can offer much better training than an in-class course.

Read: How The Course Works
OnTESOL Graduate Reviews
About the OnTESOL Method:

(Recognized by TESL Canada and ACTDEC UK)

Our mission is to provide trainees with the tools they need to become reflective and independent teachers. The Communicative Language Teaching method is at the core of our TESOL / TEFL courses. OnTESOL will help you obtain a professional teaching job anywhere in the world thanks to the exceptional lesson planning and teaching skills that you will acquire with us.

These are 5 concepts you will learn to master of with a TESOL / TEFL certification course offered by OnTESOL:
1. Integrated Skills

Attempts to communicate should be encouraged from the very beginning. OnTESOL will teach you how to integrate grammar and vocabulary lessons with the development of the four macroskills — speaking, listening, reading and writing –.
Read: How the OnTESOL Course Helped Jenny Face a Class of 40+ Students in Thailand
2. Meaning is Paramount

Teaching grammar is a very important part of an ESL class, but writing grammar rules on the board for the students to memorize is ineffective. A grammatical structure may have different meanings and, more importantly, natural language acquisition processes require students to be exposed to memorable real life situations. All our courses include a comprehensive grammar module and prepare trainees to write at least one communicative grammar lesson plan.

Read: How OnTESOL Prepared Erin to Teach Multi-Level Classes in Hong Kong
3. Teaching in Context

Contextualization is a basic premise of the OnTESOL method because meaning cannot be understood out of context. An accredited course by OnTESOL will teach you how to be creative when presenting a grammar point and it will teach you how to use communicative activities for students to practice the newly acquired language point.

Read: How OnTESOL Helped Aaron Manage Multi-Cultural Immersion Classes in Canada
4. Using Authentic Material

What do your favourite movie and song have in common? Grammar! OnTESOL will teach you how to use songs, movies, TV shows, newspaper articles, games, and online media to integrate grammar and vocabulary lessons with speaking, reading, listening, and writing skills.

Read: How Larry Designs Syllabi for IELTS Reading Preparation Classes
5. Lesson Planning

Lessons planning skills are at the core of an effective curriculum. ESL textbooks are usually ineffective because topics are outdated and activities do not relate to the context that students use when communicating in English. OnTESOL will teach you how to use various lesson planning formats and approaches so that you can create memorable lessons for your students.

Read: How a Lesson Plan Portfolio Helped Megan Get A Great Job in Australia
Get Certified to Teach English Worldwide. Start Today!
What others say about us

I have been taught by a very dedicated and enthusiastic teacher whom I hope someday to become. I am taking with me a lot of ideas, sound knowledge of grammar and phonology for my future career as an ESL teacher
Denise
ESL Teacher

100-hour TESOL certificate
The tutor was so helpful and gave very useful comments on my work. The assignments were excellent and very practical because they gave me good practice in creating my own lesson plans. The TESOL course has definitely given me more confidence in planning lessons and conducting English classes.
Luke Eastman
Australia

250-hour TESOL Diploma + Practicum
Thank you so much for giving me such a wonderful experience. Teachers were nice and patient. I treasure my learning experience at Ontesol.
Helen
Hong Kong

250-hour TESOL Diploma
I found this online course to be incredibly helpful. I liked the fact that it was so hands on and that it gave me so much practice with designing different kinds of lesson plans. I also liked the course’s emphasis on grammar and phonology, which are areas of teaching that many TEFL teachers don’t know much about but are extremely important nonetheless.
Justin DeFerbrache
United States

Advanced 120-hour TESOL Certificate Course

Online Course Recognized by TESL Canada – Equivalent to CELTA / Trinity CertTESOL
REGISTER AND START TODAY!
Tuition Fee: CA$650 (approx. US$490 )

Save $200 when you add a 20-hour course on Teaching English to Young Learners, Teaching Business English, or Teaching IELTS.

Get Certified to Teach English Worldwide!

A 120-hour TESOL certificate is the minimum international requirement for English teaching jobs. The Advanced TESOL Certificate course offered by Coventry House International-OnTESOL is the best 120-hour program in the world because it provides trainees with the professional lesson planning skills that they need to teach English in any part of the world.

Whether you are planning to teach English abroad or teach English immersion at home, this course will prepare you to use the Communicative Approach to teach fun and effective lessons. Learn to plan lessons that integrate grammar and vocabulary topics with speaking, writing, listening, and reading activities so that your students learn the rules of the English language while communicating in English!

Get the same level of training as the world-renowned in-class CELTA and Trinity CertTESOL courses. The Advanced 120-hour TESOL Certificate course offered by OnTESOL was designed by Coventry House International using the same Trinity CertTESOL syllabus that they offer in Toronto!
Read: Syllabus and Mode of Assessment
TESOL Course Reviews

“I found the 120-hour TESOL certificate program challenging and rewarding. This course allowed me to gain a proper understanding of the concepts and methods that work in the ESL classroom. This TESOL course helped me to better organize my classes and ultimately benefit my students”.

Erik Sorenson
Teaching in South Korea

5 Reasons to Get Your TESOL Certificate with OnTESOL:
1. Internationally Recognized TESOL Certificate and Double Accreditation!
TESOL certificate by TESL Canada

Get certified to teach English in Canada or go abroad with an internationally recognized TESOL certificate! Get triple TESOL certification when you study with Coventry House International-OnTESOL!

On completion of the 120-hour online program, you will receive the internationally recognized 120-hour Advanced TESOL Certificate issued by Coventry House International-OnTESOL from Toronto, Canada. You will also receive a transcript with all your marks to show employers the skills you acquired in the course. Go anywhere in the world with the Advanced 120-hour TESOL certificate!
Graduates are eligible for ACTDEC Level 3 certification.
Graduates who complete the 20-hour Practicum, have a university degree, and are native English speakers (non-native speakers must get a valid proficiency score) are eligible for TESL Canada Professional Standard 1 certification.

2. The Only Online TESOL Course with Video Tutorials and Fully Recorded ESL Classes!
3. Includes Job Assistance in the Top Destinations!

TESOL jobs and English teaching jobs abroad

Our job assistance package is completely free of charge and all the teaching jobs are fully paid. We will never charge you anything to help you find a job. Furthermore, our graduates receive free assistance with preparing their resume and getting ready for the job interview upon request.

In Asia, you will even get paid airfare and accommodation! Some of the organizations that have trusted us with their recruitment services are English First, Aston English, Gaba Japan, MY English School, Korean Horizons (Official EPIK recruiter), Amslink, GVE Online Education, and TSETA.

In Canada, we are the largest course provider of TESL Canada approved programs. Major language schools from Toronto, Vancouver, Montreal, Calgary and Halifax have recommended our course for their teachers and contact us often to hire our graduates.

In Europe and Latin America, we will provide you with a list of schools and our recruitment team will help you find recent job ads upon request.
4. Online TESOL with Professional Tutor Support

TESOL Expert Program OnTESOL graduates

An experienced teacher trainer will be assigned to assist you throughout the program. Your tutor will provide you with extensive feedback on every assignment to help you improve your teaching methods.

OnTESOL only hires teacher trainers with more than 10 years of experience in the ESL classroom and more than 5 years of experience in CELTA, Trinity CertTESOL, or TESL Canada approved courses. Some of our tutors have more than 30 years of experience in the industry! All our tutors are approved by TESL Canada, so you are guaranteed to receive professional tutor support from a qualified and experienced teacher trainer.
5. Optional Practicum Module

OnTESOL graduates can take a separate Practicum module anywhere in the world to gain supervised teaching experience. The benefit of taking this module is that you will get the opportunity to practice your planning skills and teach full classes with real ESL students.
Register to Start Your Teaching Career Today!

Total fee: CND$ 650 (approximately US $490, EUR 420, GBP 370).
What’s Included in the Tuition Fee?

Accredited Course Material (Printable / Online / Mobile)
Video Tutorials and Task-Integrated Recorded ESL lessons
Tutor Support
Internationally Recognized 120-hour TESOL Certificate and Transcript (by post)
List of 1000+ ESL Schools From All Over the World
Recruitment in China (English First and Aston English), Japan (Gaba), Korea (EPIK), Russia (English First), Thailand (T.S.E.T.A and Open Book) and Vietnam (Amslink)
Job Board

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. How Long Do I Have to Complete The TESOL Certificate Course?

This TESOL course was designed for trainees who need to take a TESOL certificate course at their own pace in order to meet other work or study commitments. The minimum time necessary to complete this online TESOL program is 4 weeks. The maximum time given to complete this course is 6 months.
2. Does it Say Online on The TESOL Certificate?

No, it doesn’t say online on the TESOL certificate. You will receive a TESOL certificate and transcript issued from Toronto, Canada.
3. Do I Have to Complete the 20-hour Practicum to get the TESOL certificate?

The 20-hour Practicum is optional and separate. Those who complete the 120-hour Advanced TESOL Certificate program and wish to be eligible for TESL Canada Professional Standard 1 certification must complete the Practicum module. The Practicum module can be completed anywhere in the world and there isn’t a deadline to complete this module after the online TESOL certificate program.

The are two options for the Practicum:

Graduates can take the 20-hour Practicum at any language school, TESOL institute, or adult ESL program. This is perfect for teachers who are already working at a language school and those who cannot come to Toronto. OnTESOL will approve the supervising teacher, provide the guidelines, and moderate the reports and lesson plans free of charge. Graduates are responsible for finding a qualified teacher (Minimum 2000 hours of teaching experience and an internationally recognized TESOL certificate such as TESL Canada, CELTA, or Trinity CertTESOL) to supervise this module and arranging a fee with the teacher for his/her services. The ESL students who participate in your classes must be older than 18 (Minimum 5 students per class).
Coventry House International can set up your Practicum in Toronto for $350. We also work with schools in Barrie, Mississauga, Calgary, Vancouver, Halifax, Montreal, and Edmonton who charge between $400 and $600 for the 20-hour Practicum.

Company Details
  • 2 Bloor St. West Suite 700 Toronto Ontario Canada M4W 3R1
  • 416 929 0227
  • https://www.ontesol.com/
  • [email protected]
  • TESL Canada Professional Standard 2, ACTDEC UK Level 3, ACTDEC UK Level 1
  • 250-hour TESOL Diploma Get the most comprehensive training in grammar, methodology, and phonology. 50% OFF Specialist Courses! TEYL, Teaching Business English, and/or Teaching IELTS to your Advanced TESOL Certificate course for only $100!
Main Office | Course Location

2 Bloor St. West Suite 700 Toronto Ontario Canada M4W 3R1

Course Type(s)
  • Online TEFL Courses
  • Just Text What's Up
Course Length(s)
  • Short Courses (40-100 hours), Standard (120-140 hours), Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate Type(s)
  • TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Specialist Course(s)
  • Teaching Business English (BE), Teaching Exam Preparation, Teaching Young Learners (YL)
Additional Feature(s)
  • Stand-Alone Teaching Practice Module
  • Rae
    August 10, 2021 at 11:38 pm

    I completed half of the 250-hour diploma program. The course content is great. The methodology module is comprehensive and takes a while to do. The tutor was good. My issue was with the school’s flexibility. I was diagnosed with cancer a week after my dad was. This was two weeks after I started a new full-time job. I asked if I could transfer to the 120-hour course instead because I didn’t feel like I could commit to the workload of the 250-hour diploma program anymore. I had too much going on and felt overwhelmed. At this point, I was already half way finished the diploma program–finished the grammar module and half-way through the methodology module. They told me I couldn’t change courses because the “content was too different.” I completed the more comprehensive grammar module–I don’t understand how downgrading would be an issue or how different a teaching grammar module could be . All the chapters in both courses had the same titles; I really doubt the 120-hour certificate was teaching more and/or different grammar than the 250-hour diploma. It would have been easy to allow a person to start from the end of the grammar module if they wanted to transfer from the diploma to the certificate. I wouldn’t even asked for a refund. But no exceptions.

    The second issue was that there is no refund for specialty courses. Their site fails to mention that. Specialty modules are supposedly considered part of the 120-hour or 250-hour courses and not separate things, so once you start the diploma or certificate, you aren’t going to get any money back if you change your mind about a specialization.

    I would have liked the opportunity to complete the certificate program, but that won’t be happening now. I’m pretty bummed.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jacob Feinberg
    June 19, 2018 at 12:00 am

    This course was a pleasure to complete. The content and materials are thoroughly organized and presented, and the feedback from the instructors was a huge help. I currently live and work in Germany, and the certificate I obtained from Ontesol has made a huge impact on the types of positions I’ve been considered for. I am still completing an integration course for citizenship, but once that’s completed I expect to be working full time with a local language school or university. I was a bit frustrated at times with the directions provided for some of the lessons, so I would recommended this course for anyone that can successfully manage their own time. Online learning is fun easy and in some cases better than in person lectures, but it takes diligence and the willingness to hold yourself accountable in order to make the most of the service offered.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Linda Suh
    June 8, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I was required to upgrade my TESOL certificate by the director of my previous workplace due to licensing reasons with Languages Canada. At the time I was currently teaching in Vancouver BC, so I did not have the luxury to take time off from work to upgrade by TESOL certificate. I was recommended by Languages Canada to look into OnTesol. At first I was concerned because it was all online however I was totally impressed!! My tutor was awesome and the textbook material was amazing. I printed a hardcopy and keep it as a reference at work. The course was extremely informative and fun. I completed the practicum section as well and found it super interesting to observe other teachers and get a chance to work with a new level in a new environment. I am not tech savvy but since the system is so easy to use I never encountered an issue. Feedback from my TA was excellent and his side notes were amazing. I honestly would have never been able to complete a 120 TESOL course if I had not done it through Ontesol. I would totally recommend this course for anyone in the industry of teaching English.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Keith Slater
    June 5, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I thought this was a thorough course. I would recommend it to others. Pros -> Personal tutor -> My personal tutor, Aaron, was an insightful aid and added a personal component to the online course. He responded quickly with well thought out advice. Detailed Lesson Plans -> The lesson plan models were detailed and the structure was well laid out. Cons -> Badly organized -> I found it hard to find things and the user interface to be poorly organized.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • S. Cowley
    May 13, 2018 at 12:00 am

    My 120-hours OnTESOL course was an effective, efficient, and high-quality expenditure of my time and money. My instructor was easy to communicate with, responsive, and provided in-depth feedback that was entirely specific to my work. I appreciated the time and effort that she put into providing me with feedback. Since completing this certificate, I have had steady work as an ESL instructor at various post-secondary institutions in Canada. I have recommended OnTESOL’s program to my friends and will continue to recommend it to anyone who is interested in TESL certification.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Patricia Brooks
    May 10, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I took OnTesol’s 250 hour course to prepare to teach English abroad. From the very beginning, I was pleased with how many various topics the course covered. Starting with grammar and later getting into different activity types and lesson planning, it was fairly comprehensive dive into what an EFL or ESL teacher needs to know to complete his or her job successfully, and the information was presented in a clear and concise way. I do wish, however, that there had a section on second language acquisition (SLA) theory. Knowing about some of the mechanisms that drive language acquisition and SLA would help teachers to better understand how and why their students might struggle, and thus make them better equipped to help the students. If I had to recommend anything be added to the course, it would be SLA theory.When completing the program, I had a mentor who checked my assignments and answered any other questions I had via email. She was very prompt in replying to any emails I sent her, and the tips that she gave me when checking over my lesson plans especially, as I had never before written a lesson plan, was invaluable. I think being able to access one’s mentor in real time, like over video call, would be very helpful as well, so that might be something to consider for the future.The time period given to complete the course was very generous, and I loved being able to work on as much or as little as I wanted so long as I completed the course within the set time frame. The convenience was one of the main reasons I chose OnTesol’s program in the first place.I never took advantage of the job placement section of the OnTesol site, but as there does not seem to be an option to not score a section, I gave five stars to not drag down the over all rating.Overall, I had a very positive experience with OnTesol’s 250 hour course. I learned a lot about grammar and teaching itself that really helped me to appreciate the complexity of the job that lay before me. My mentor was very kind and helpful, and the convenience of online courses can never be beat! I just hope that in the future OnTesol incorporates more SLA theory into the course and makes conferencing with mentors possible.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Tania Maria
    May 5, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I was enrolled in the 120 Hour Tesol certification course, 20 hour practicum and the 20 hour IELTS specialization mini course. All three, without a doubt, exceeded my expectations. As some people may be aware, online certifications (compared to their onsite counterparts) are occasionally frowned upon by certain schools – without a doubt however, the detailed modules, range of course assignments and the know-how of the tutors puts Ontesol as a top certification provider. Despite having worked abroad for some years, there was still a vast amount of valuable information that I gained during every step of the process. From a personal perspective, I would say that the tutors are specifically what make Ontesol amazing though. You have someone there at all times to help you with any and all questions you might have; regardless of the simplicity or complexity of your inquiries, they always provide detailed answers. In one particular case, I asked a specific detailed grammar-related question and not only did my tutor answer my question, they even went as far to provide external resources for my own personal learning. In another instance, I found that my tutor’s constructive criticism was the extra push that I needed to gain more confidence as an instructor. I truly believe that this “going above and beyond” attitude is something that all educators should be striving to achieve – it makes me feel extremely reassured to know that Ontesol, as a certification provider for hundreds of other teachers, also feels the same way!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Reaham A
    April 15, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I made the right choice when I chose to complete a 250 hour diploma program through onTesol. This course, complete with the 3 modules and video resources, was easy to follow along with the tasks and assignments. The tutor that I was provided with was amazing and did not hesitate to answer any of my questions if I was having any trouble. Best of all, I was able to finish this course on my own time so I could do everything to the best of my abilities. As someone who is now teaching English as a second language, I strongly recommend taking this course because it definitely did further my education not only in teaching but in classroom tactics and differentiation.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Catherine
    March 22, 2018 at 12:00 am

    Ontesol far exceeded my expectations of online education. The course was very rigorous, with plenty of assignments that tested my ability to plan a full lesson. These assignments took me into the classroom so every activity I plan has a communicative purpose.
    My tutor sent full explanations on grammar and teaching methods that complemented the material very well and added a very personal touch. After the course, their staff contacted me to guide me with my job search and helped me apply with a couple of companies in China until I got the job. Overall, I give Ontesol 5 stars!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Rowan Furlotte
    February 28, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I took the 250 Hour Advanced Diploma. It took me about a year to complete the course work and 3 week to do the 50 hour practicum. The course is demanding and challenging, but in the best possible way. I am deeply with how well I was prepared for entering this field of work. The thorough coverage and practice of lesson planning gave me everything I needed and more. I was exposed to a wide range of brilliant teaching techniques and always encouraged to be creative in thinking up ways to engage students in meaningful activities. I had a wonderfully responsive and patient tutor who provided me with indispensable feedback and guidance. In Canada, both private language schools and LINC programs were satisfied with my credentials and sample lesson plans. I have now landed a full time dream job with a LINC organization.I strongly recommend this program. It gave me both the skills and practice I needed, plus a confidence I didn’t think I could obtain.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Kyle
    February 27, 2018 at 12:00 am

    After my first year of teaching in Japan, I wanted to widen my pedagogical toolkit and fortify my knowledge of proper grammar. I researched all the other sites offering online certification, but OnTESOL had the best curriculum and support for the price. The material was challenging, my advisers always responded to my questions promptly and graded fairly, and I was immediately able to put my newfound knowledge into practice in my classrooms. The course organization is superb and builds from the foundations upward. It definitely gave my teaching confidence a boost.The OnTESOL 100-hour course was an excellent learning opportunity for what I was looking for, and also allowed me to get the certification I needed to open doors to teaching jobs in Korea afterward. I would certainly recommend it!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • klarimer rojas
    February 24, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I took the 250-hour Diploma course and I am very satisfied with it. It definitively exceeded my expectations in every way.
    My tutor was there anytime I needed her and was quick to respond to every question I had. She was excellent. Her support and comments were enriching.
    I have not done the practicum yet, but I eventuallty will.
    The material is very well written, clear and structured. Every assignment was challenging, and I must say that I learnt a lot from them. I strongly recommend this course !

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • D. Suzette
    February 3, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I recently completed the 120 hour OnTesol Certificate Course. The organization of the course was impressive. My tutor was extremely responsive and provided timely, constructive feedback which encouraged me to improve my performance. As an experienced educator and online Facilitator, I found the course content manageable yet challenging.
    I will definitely recommend this course to my colleagues who are seeking professional development programmes and, or opportunities for further education in TESOL.
    This was truly an excellent learning experience.
    Well done, team!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Maestro678
    January 28, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I completed the 250-hour course a couple of years ago. The course was challenging and inexpensive.
    The course is endorsed by TESL Canada which ranks it more more highly than a CELTA. It is also endorsed by ACTDEC. These endorsements are important and relatively few online programs have both of them.
    There were some problems with the course content. First, there is far too much emphasis on lesson planning, and the making of long and detailed lesson plans. This is not really practical. Although all professional teachers plan, there is not enough time, or even the need, to make overly-long plans. In my many years of teaching, I have relied on a a “running order” for my classes. The course needs to use other assessments of trainees’ progress(such as quizzes and papers)and reduce the number of lesson plans required. Second, the pronunciation section is otiose and needs to be redone. The pronunciation section was the least-useful part of the course.
    Finally, many employers do not accept online credentials. That practice is wrongheaded and illogical, but it is the reality.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Rita
    January 21, 2018 at 12:00 am

    Since I do not have an Education or Teaching background (although I have instructed adults with on-the-job training in previous jobs), I think it took me a little time to understand what questions to ask, or what I could even ask for – this seemed to delay my progress, but once I started opening up to the tutors (Ainsley and Claudia), I found that they are more than a plethora of information. Who knew all of the information, examples, and resources they could provide to me. Even through email exchanges, I have learned a lot and I have grown more confident in my ability to write lesson plans.I think, with anything else, good practice equals success, but I do really think that utilizing the tutors given to you will be the secret to success.I couldn’t have been more pleased with Ainsley, the tutor who helped me with my first TESOL course that I completed. It was a bit difficult but her support throughout the entire process made it bearable, understandable, and so much easier to understand how to complete a thorough, detailed lesson plan (so much harder than I originally thought but totally worth it once you create and complete it)Highly recommended!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Michael Hammett
    January 21, 2018 at 12:00 am

    I took the 20-hour TEYL module offered by OnTesol after my employer requested that I upgrade my TESOL certification. The main course material comes in a PDF file, while a tutor handles questions and assignment marking via email. It’s a bit old-fashioned, but it works. In fact, for people (like me) who don’t live permanently connected to the internet, the ability to do the module without requiring a constant connection can be a definite advantage. The material itself is well laid out; the methodology covered is well explained and contains examples. The links included in the PDF, while not strictly necessary for completing the module, were very helpful in illustrating specific methodology. Where OnTesol really shines is the tutor who oversees your work on the course. In my case, the tutor was a teacher with decades of experience with young learners, and I found her exceptionally responsive and helpful. Whenever I had a question or a concern, she was ready with a well-thought-out and insightful response. Great!Keep in mind that the TEYL module is only 20 hours. Considering “young learners” can mean anyone from 2-years-old to 13, that’s a lot of cognitive-development ground to cover, and the module is far from comprehensive. My biggest disappointment with it is that the examples tend to focus on intermediate-plus students– which generally means students from the upper end of the “young learners” range. If, like I do, you work mostly with absolute beginners and the youngest students in general, you’re not going to find a lot of what is discussed simply isn’t relevant. It’s all information worth knowing; it just might not be immediately applicable.When all is said and done, the TEYL module is a relatively inexpensive way to get some professional development related to teaching young learners, especially in the 8-12-year-old range. OnTesol is a good option for people with odd hours and/or limited internet connectivity.Recommended.Michael Hammett

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sandra Sweeney
    January 21, 2018 at 12:00 am

    A few years ago, I took the 250-hour online TESOL program for two reasons. I had already completed a 100 hour TEFL, so I was looking for something more robust. The possibility of getting further recognition in the form of TESL Canada Professional Standard 2 and ACTDEC UK Level 3, good for the Middle East, was the ultimate draw.I was overwhelmed with work and about ten hours ahead of Toronto time which I thought was going to be too much to sustain. And, I think, had I chosen a different program, that might have been the case.However, this program was so logically scaffolded that I never felt at odds with the course requirements. It was brilliantly administered by a fantastically professional tutor. Her feedback was timely and always pertinent. There is a terrific balance between formative and summative assessments.I wasn’t teaching ESL at the time, but a rather intensive academic English course to English Language Learners and right away the course content was applicable to my own context. I was able to begin applying concepts and strategies immediately. The course definitely made me a stronger teacher.I had thought I was just going to rack up the hours and breeze through the course based on my previous experience with online courses. I was so wrong! The course was demanding; the material was challenging; the tutor was not giving any free passes. Ultimately, I had enrolled in the best online TEFL course ever. Overall, professional and reputable.I recommend the 250-hour online course for anyone working with English Language Learners.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Kristy Waddell
    January 12, 2018 at 12:00 am

    After teaching many years I was looking for a specialization dealing with second/multiple languages as I was living abroad. I would be using these skills on a daily basis in small groups, large groups and different age groups. I found the course through its’ modules logically organized, comprehensive and helped you to look for solutions that were not always used in the classrooms but would relate to students’ daily lives. This was my first course that I followed online receiving support by Skype, emails and feedback on assignments which were positive and filled with shared knowledge. The materials used were filled with examples and had clear guidelines; however, I also supplemented this with another grammar book. My practicum was alright but my actual teaching position benefited enormously from the knowledge and content that I acquired through the course. I highly recommend this program. It was much more that I anticipated but all to the benefit of myself, my students and my employer!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Erica
    November 28, 2017 at 12:00 am

    ONTESOL provides a very thorough curriculum and plenty of support at a good price. I was also very thankful for help in getting a job teaching ESL.They have very high standards and expect students to meet the standards. Sometimes I felt that maybe they could allow more flexibility for different teaching styles. I’d recommend ONTESOL for anyone who wants a TESOL certification and is comfortable with online learning.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sara
    November 25, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I found this online course to be very practical. I was able to study this alongside my full-time job with the option to extend the course deadline if possible. Ontesol was one of the few TESOL courses I found with such flexibility! My tutor always responded to my emails very quickly and was very helpful.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Amoah
    November 24, 2017 at 12:00 am

    With ONTESOL, you learn at comfort of your home and obtain an internationally recognized certificate. I just completed 120 hr ontesol and 20 hr IELTS specialist course. The fact that I’m employed by Ghana education service and had been teaching for some years now, my course at ontesol has enabled me discovered a lot in my teaching profession.
    My students are in focus ( active learning ) in lesson notes preparation and lesson delivery. That has awakened thier interest and my class has become very lively. The one – size – fit – all approach has been given a fair balance with a variety of methods which addresses the multi intelligence of my class.
    My understanding of the communicative approach is also enhanced and I teach the four language skills communicatively in an integrated form
    My tutors were fantastic and I’m particularly fascinated by thier prompt response, in depth knowledge, and guidance. I recommend ONTESOL course for all English language teachers.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Amanda
    October 18, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I recently completed the advanced 250-hour Diploma course. I found really useful and thorough. I liked that the course could be completed online and at my own pace.
    I really appreciated having tutors and all the helpful feedback. I was able to email her if I questions about my assignments or course content. She was alway willing to help me and also gave detailed corrections and tips for the classroom.
    I would recommend this course to others who are thinking about taking a TESOL course

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Kevin Cabrera
    September 18, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I’ve recently completed the 120 hour TESOL and 20 hour practicum. Prior to the course I gained some experience tutoring English overseas. The 120 hour TESOL course helped build on my teaching skills and techniques. It provided me with key theories that proved to be essential in looking at class activities or situations in different ways. I found myself being a more flexible teacher that can adjust my lessons to cater to various types of students. The assignments were well designed. I was required to create lesson plans that focused on designing activities, grammar, speaking, listening and vocabulary. This provided me with useful practice in creating customized lesson plans. My supervisor was very approachable and gave constructive advice. They responded in a timely manner, usually within a day or two from my submission. I could tell that my supervisor had a different teaching style, so it was interesting to see other approaches I could take. The office staff kindly provided me with a lot of information regarding, payment, application process, and employment opportunities. I really enjoyed my 20 hour practicum. You can gain a lot by simply observing an experienced teacher working their craft. My supervising teacher gave detailed advice after every lesson. He challenged me to improve on them for the next lesson. Being around actual students in an authentic school environment, helped me get a better understanding of which theories work and which don’t. I suggest to take this opportunity to play around and tweak your lessons little by little.The freedom I was given to create lessons, really pushed my creativity skills. I felt a great sense of achievement after successfully teaching a lesson I created. By the end of the two weeks, you’ll become closer to your students and supervising instructor. My advice is enjoy it while it to the fullest. It motivated me to start my career right away!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sierra
    September 17, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I would highly recommend the 120-hour OnTESOL course for new ESL teachers. Although I had been teaching in Japan for two years prior to taking the course, I lacked proper credentials and found myself struggling with my classes and reverting to teaching sites for strategies and lesson ideas. A friend and ESL coordinator at an international school recommended OnTESOL because they’re reputable and provide affordable high quality courses. As anyone researching TESOL certificates knows, finding a course with those traits can be difficult and overwhelming but it’s also paramount to receive the proper qualifications you need to teach abroad.Not only did OnTESOL surpass my expectations and provide me with a solid base on teaching methodologies and lesson planning, but it also allowed me to quickly apply what I was learning to my classroom. I gained confidence with my teaching and had better control of my class, simply by using the knowledge and techniques that I gained through the course. Be forewarned though: this course isn’t easy. It takes hard work and dedication. But that’s part of what makes it rewarding and it’s certainly worth the effort. For anyone wondering about the six month time constraint (120-hr course), it is completely sufficient, and I was working two jobs while completing the course. As a final note, my tutor, Claudia, was absolutely incredible. Not only would she reply in a timely manner, but she gave constructive criticism and insightful feedback and I felt supported every step of the way.Overall, a wonderful course that is reputable, affordable, and provides you with the quality education you need to teach in an ESL classroom.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Erin Stewart
    August 31, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I began teaching English in 2011 with prior experience but no certification. As a result I spent a lot of time researching what would be the best option for me to become certified in ESL teaching while continuing at my school in South Korea. I had considered getting a CELTA but couldn’t find the time or money to complete the program abroad. That’s when I discovered Ontesol, which was the perfect fit for my situation. Ontesol is thoroughly accredited and recognized by TESL Canada (and have been for over ten years), which was a big priority for me when considering online certifications. Their curriculum and instructors are very high quality. While I was completing my 250 hour Diploma, my husband was finishing his MA in TESOL and on comparison I discovered our course material was quite similar. My instructor was professional and extremely thorough. Though the program was rigorous, it enabled me to identify and improve holes in my lesson planning as well as the effectiveness of my lesson delivery. I learned a great deal over the course of 7 months, and when I had completed the program I opted to continue on and complete my practicum, which I was able to do at the university where I am currently employed. I am in the process of working with TESL Canada to become qualified to teach in Canada when we move back in 2018.Overall, the convenience, value and quality of an Ontesol certification make it one of the best options I have come across for ESL qualifications while abroad. I highly recommend this program.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Shawn Doyle
    August 25, 2017 at 12:00 am

    This course was very thorough and provided exactly what I was looking for. The opportunity to finish the course online, and then do an in-person practical at any time to upgrade the certification, was a big reason I chose this course. It means I can find work with the first certification, and then, if I so choose, I can upgrade to find work here in Canada. The tutor system was excellent. Very personable. The course was broken into 3 distinct modules and that broke up the learning quite well. The information was given in pdf readings, which were quite professional. I found the content to be great, and the delivery at least average. Thanks OnTESOL!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • DK Hawkins
    August 21, 2017 at 12:00 am

    OnTESOL was recommended to me by a friend and I was a little hesitant to take it at first due to the plethora of online TEFL courses that could be taken online. However, after finishing the course and the 20 hour TEYL course, I found that the OnTESOL offered a very effective curriculum. English is something that a lot of English speakers take for granted and I believe that the course helps in making people realize this. It actually drives a point that English teachers need consider that English isn’t the easiest of languages. The course was divided into very specific areas that helped in consuming what was taught in a non-overwhelming manner while still being very effective in explaining what the different aspects of the English language are. Additionally, I found the TEYL aspect of the course incredibly useful, especially with the various ways a lesson could be taught. I found the extra resources given helpful as well, should we need it in the future. My instructors were also very helpful and provided me with great constructive criticism. Overall, I was impressed and satisfied with the course.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

  • Shk
    July 22, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I recently completed the advanced 250-hour Diploma course which I found really useful. The best thing about this online course is that you don’t have to worry about time and you can do the assignments and tasks at your own pace.In addition, I personally learned a lot regarding lesson planning and using authentic materials in classes.I also take the opportunity to thank my tutor Claudia who really helped me throughout the course and made constructive comments on my tasks and assignments . I also thank the staff in charge of replying emails, Lucas and Martin, who were all the time there to help me through the process.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Amanda P
    July 22, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I took part in the 120-hour advanced TESL course and I absolutely adored it! My tutor was quick to respond to any questions that I had regarding course material, and the material itself was extremely well written and very clear. The homework assignments were challenging, and I learned much throughout my course from both a student and a teacher perspective. I 100% recommend this course to anyone who is looking to open up some new doors in life.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Hanieh Khoshkhou
    July 8, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I really appreciated how quick and helpful both my tutor and the admin were at OnTesol. My tutor always clarified anything I wasn’t sure about and always went out of her way to give me plenty of examples and feedback on my own work. I would recommend OnTesol because you are not just another student but rather an important part of what makes OnTesol so successful.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

  • Andrew Watts
    July 8, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I received my TESOL certification from OnTESOL several years ago and it has been a true asset ever since. I applied for jobs in Japan immediately after completing the course and had no problem getting hired. I was pleased to discover that the material covered in the course closely reflected the skills required in the field. I have been teaching ESL now for almost 6 years now, lived in 3 countries, and traveled all around the world. This is the only certification I have (other than a BA). Thanks for making it possible!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Michael Hartmann
    June 29, 2017 at 12:00 am

    100 hour TESOL + 20 hour TEYL (Teaching English to Young Learners).I found that the course were very informative and I learned a lot more than I initially expected.My teachers were helpful, although I didn’t use them much. Everything was just better and much more than I expected.I liked the course, and even though I have been teaching for 2 years I learned a lot. Especially the Grammar and Methodology gave me a lot of new things to consider when teaching.I took it slow and I have been using more hours than the 100 + 20 in my study. I think it is possible to do in 120 hours, but not for me. I liked to explore most of the extra material and I have used at least 200-250 hours on this course, which also payed of in a very good result

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Michael Beechen
    June 27, 2017 at 12:00 am

    I completed the 100-hour TEFL course with OnTESOL. I have learned many new things with OnTESOL and Aaron. Throughout the course, Aaron provided me with direct, helpful feedback for each assignment. Aaron would go above and beyond with his explanation of the topic, allowing me to have a better understanding of the concepts being taught. Having the option to take a completely online course was incredibly convenient for me, as I had to balance work, full-time school, and this course. OnTESOL proved to be the best, most accommodative choice in their professionalism and support. I would recommend OnTESOL to anyone weighing their options.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

Add a review