Description

We’re the world’s leading TEFL course provider, and we’ve qualified over 155,000 people since we launched in 1994.We pride ourselves on delivering world class, skills-based and practical training that will help you to step into the classroom with confidence. i-to-i TEFL courses are endorsed by leading language employers worldwide, so it’s no wonder TEFL employers actively seek teachers who are i-to-i TEFL qualified.So if you want to achieve your TEFL dreams of teaching and living abroad, look no further than i-to-i. Just ask our graduates – 90% said they would recommend us to a friend.

Main Office | Course Location

Suite 2, Chantry House, Victoria Road, Leeds, West Yorkshire, LS5 3JB, United Kingdom

Course Type(s)
  • Combined TEFL Courses, Online TEFL Courses
  • Just Text What's Up
Course Length(s)
  • Short Courses (40-100 hours), Standard (120-140 hours), Long Courses (150+ hours)
Certificate Type(s)
  • TEFL / TESL / TESOL
Specialist Course(s)
  • Grammar, Teaching Business English (BE), Teaching Exam Preparation, Teaching One-to-One, Teaching Young Learners (YL)
Additional Feature(s)
  • TEFL Internships
  • Michael
    May 18, 2018 at 12:00 am

    They don’t do much teaching in these online courses- I did the 120 hour course plus Advanced Grammar, Teaching One to one, Teaching Young Learners, Teaching Business English, Lesson Planning modules- I previously did their 60 hour taster and teaching large classrooms and grammar modules . They don’t refer to textbooks except for one tiny part in Teaching One to one to help form your syllabus from the contents page yet using textbooks is the mainstay of teaching. Most of the content is obvious stuff- can do it without reading their notes-or term learning which is of marginal value and every test is multichoice and you can’t fail. There is little preparation for the lesson plan and essay that you have to write for every single course- many courses have had them doing very little effort into scenarios for the lesson plan forming. The Teaching Large Classroom module was actually good with a lot of little assignments. The grammar modules never include actual teaching the basics of grammar- verb forms and sentence formation. There are some good parts to the Advanced Grammar course such as use of “few” and “some”. The lesson plans do get checked by varying quality of tutors- one passed me in half an hour whereas others give decent comments but their highest regarded quality of the essay is that it has 1000 words or more. If you want to learn something useful save your money. If you want a certified certificate then they are OK for that purpose. You learn more by self-teaching as you struggle with your lesson plans. If a textbook doesn’t include everything perfectly set down then I quite stuck.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Lauren Carter
    May 17, 2018 at 12:00 am

    The weekend course and the online course are really informative! I enjoyed the weekend course immensely, I leaned so much even though it’s a really full weekend, and there’s a lot to learn. After finishing both, I am not applying for jobs and have already had a lot of offers. The online course could be a bit more interactive, and I’d love to see more videos, but the weekend course helped to solidify the theory from the online side.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sarah
    April 6, 2018 at 12:00 am

    Steer well clear of I-to-I. I wish I had done more research before wasting my money and time on their course and internship!
    The course was terribly written and not helpful as a first time TEFL teacher whatsoever.
    The customer service is awful.
    The internship is a complete rip off. I met someone on the exact same internship through a reputable TEFL company who hadn’t charged them anything. Nobody was there to meet me at the airport and I didn’t have accommodation provided for the first three weeks!!
    I met so many people who had been through the same thing with them. They don’t care about people, just lining their pockets! Rubbish company, stay away!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Florence Omenye
    April 23, 2016 at 12:00 am

    I finished the TEFL course since the middle of last year, and I’m still waiting for my certificate. I’ve tried contacting them but…nothing. It was a good experience, but it’s worthless over here in Nigeria without proof.I was even offered the Advanced Grammar course for free, and till today I’m still waiting to be allowed to start the course.I doubt I’d recommend them to anyone, because as far as my current employer is concerned…I am not a certified TEFLer!

  • Julie
    November 7, 2015 at 12:00 am

    Course is very expensive for how old the information is, plus a lack of resources and support from the team. Spend you money elsewhere.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Karen
    October 17, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I gained a lot of confidence standing in front of a class and teaching English. During the course I gained ideas and techniques on how to keep students focused and how to transfer knowledge.
    The course is well laid out and the highlighted text helps you to find the answers yo the tests. At first I battled submitting the tests, not knowing the sequence of icons to press but got round to it eventually. From then on it was quite enjoyable doing the tests. The voice recordings was not clear and I struggled a bit identifying the errors made.
    The practical course was excellent. The group work and interaction with fellow course students was great. The lectuter could not help me with the setup of my e-resume though. The call centre was friendly and quick to respond to questions. I enjoyed my course, thank you.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Allie
    September 28, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I took the i-to-i TEFL course based on all of the high reviews. I regret taking this course and even tried to receive a refund, but was told that I couldn’t get a refund because it was past the allowed period of time. This class is very overpriced for what it is. The layout of the lessons is awful, I am very distracted by the bold lettering and the videos are difficult to understand. I could learn everything in this course just by reading a book and not paying so much money for it. It is very clear that the company is all about making money off of eager teachers wanting to go abroad. The content is good for the most part, they cover a lot of topics, but I am not satisfied with my experience in general and wish I would have taken my TEFL with another company.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Aryn
    July 24, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I had half-done a TEFL minor in school but never finished and I am SO glad that I finished it here! The i-to-i course was very straightforward and easy/fun to do, and FULL of useful and practical information. I feel that this course has prepared me much better than all the TEFL classes I took in university because it covers the things you’ll actually need and use (like classroom management, how to create good activities, resources for games and ideas for lesson plans, etc.) and none of the things you don’t. The checkpoint assignments were on point and realistic, and the webinars and resources are very handy and appreciated! I would wholeheartedly recommend this course to anyone looking to teach abroad.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Sarah Crowther
    July 18, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I’ve recently completed the 150 hr i-to-i TELF course, including the Advanced Grammar and Teaching Business English courses. I was a bit dubious to sign up to start with but I asked a friend to recommend a company and i-to-i was the one she recommended through personal experience. I was pleasantly surprised how much content there was, how user friendly the whole thing was and how much I learnt from it, even though I’ve been ‘tefling’ for several years. I phoned the helpline a couple of times during the course and the people In spoke to were pleasant, professional and helpful. I was so happy when I finally finished it, felt I’d really achieved something, that I then signed up for the Teaching English to Younger Learners course. My certificate took about ten days to arrive. Thanks i-to-i.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Andrew
    July 12, 2015 at 12:00 am

    Ladies and gentlemen, your voyage of discovery starts here! i found myself at a junction in my life where I needed something to focus on, to give me a new direction with the aim of getting out and about, to throw myself in at the deep and and survive on my wits. I spoke to a chap, he had done a TEFL, it sounded right for me.I had spent a week searching for a TEFL course and found myself put off by other websites that did not have a believable name, most of them seemed quite vague and as though they were a figment of Mr Disney’s imagination. Then i came across i-to-i and thought this sounds familiar, I gave the website a good look over leaving nothing untouched, after all you are parting with your hard earned cash and you want to know that something is real, right? having had my assignments marked by real tutors and had phone conversations with genuine people I feel I made the right choice.The course has been laid out in such a way that you learn from the very beginning with the natural progression through the skills. Its not all about drumming you full of grammar to the extent that you should be working at Oxford or Cambridge, but more to fill you with the techniques of teaching, the delivering, lesson planning and job seeking.I have done the 120 hr online TEFL course, I’m about to do another here at i-to-i. RegardsA happy customer!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Caroline Bird
    July 11, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I studied for the 120-hour online course and 20-hour in class training. I found the overall content of the course to be extremely helpful and very in depth for someone who has had no previous experience in teaching and I certainly left the course feeling more confident in my abilities. I enjoyed the practical teaching experience as I left with a lot more ideas on how to manage a classroom and run a lesson. The tutor had over 10 years of TEFL experience and it really showed. It was helpful to play the games, etc. like we were students so you could see what works. I would perhaps have preferred teaching not just fellow trainees and having the chance to run a lesson on my own as planning a lesson with a fellow trainee sometimes made you feel your efforts and abilities were being hampered if you had conflicting opinions on how the class should be run. The feedback on lesson plans was very helpful, for example, when you were asked to design your own activities or choose your own topic. Feedback was always of a high quality and received in a very short amount of time. Even when I failed my first attempt on a checkpoint I was given reassuring advice which stopped me worrying before I resubmitted my attempt and passed. For some of the checkpoints though, the feedback could have been a bit more detailed though I suspect tutors have a lot of work to go through so this may not always be possible. There is always a good variety of resources accompanying the module that I often referred to when completing the checkpoints. I particularly value the phonemic typewriter.
    Overall a great experience and I am confident now I can be a TEFL Teacher!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Hubertina
    July 11, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I’m a 55-year-old Dutch teacher, teaching Dutch and home-economics in middle school (students aged 14-19). I have been teaching children in pre-school and primary school too. Some 10 years ago I got a master in typewriting and wordprocessing. My husband and I are thinking of relocating in Spain. Exploring Spain, I learned that Spanish people hardly speak English. When I had an accident and went to a hospital, the physician asked me if I was willing to help her children with English, because I spoke the language so well. I was very surprised and talked it over with my principal, who used to teach English. She advised me to search the Internet for a TEFL-course. This is how I found i-to-i.
    The course was very challenging as everything, of course, was in English. My English improved a lot. The teaching part was less important to me, as I already have 30+ years of experience. However, teaching ideas have changed last 10-15 years and it was nice to learn how lessonplans in the UK are constructed. It is a totally different approach from the Dutch lessonplans.
    I liked the course. I did the A and B part, but I added a few smaller course, like one-to-one, teaching in Spain and the extra grammar course. I attended one webinar. That was a whole new experience for me. I loved the concept. Alas I wasn’t able to attend more live webinars, but I watched a few recorded ones too.
    Last week, June 1st, I finished my last assessments. The assessments helped me to focus on the UK style of teaching. Fortunately I was lucky enough to get all my assessments back with positive gradings the first time I sent them in. Every assessment was graded within a few hours, the record being 30 minutes. The critics were adequate and very positive. The tutors were very professional, in my opinion.
    So now I’m awaiting my certificate(s).

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Nadine Steele
    June 29, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I completed Course A and B (120 hours) in two months. I have been a classroom teacher and Special Educator for 39 years in Canada and I have my MEd degree. I retired from my teaching position to look for a new exciting job.
    From my perspective, the courses were excellent! The content is current and relevant to students today. The teaching methodology promotes engagement and active learning rather than lecturing. The Progress Checks at the end of each unit are marked instantly after they are submitted. The Checkpoints require thoughtful, creative answers and a synthesis of the content which will serve new teachers well. The office staff, Helpdesk, and tutors are all supportive and encouraging.
    I have accepted my first job as a TEFL teacher in Qatar starting in August. I know that my TEFL training will help me be a better teacher in my new career. I believe that i-to-i TEFL is helping new teachers teach around the world with knowledge, enthusiasm, and a commitment to quality education.
    Please note that I did not complete the practice teaching nor access the job placement options so they are not rated.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Patricia
    June 21, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I took a 120 hour online course with i-to-i in December 2014. I finished by the end of January 2015 and passed both sections ‘A’ & ‘B’. I already teach in a school, but we get to use ready-made lesson plans and resources so I was really happy to learn through i-to-i how to make proper lesson plans and explore so many good resources. The course material was beautifully put together and I learnt a lot of new techniques and methods. I was also very impressed by the quality control, feedback and guidance of the instructors. There were times when I had to do my assignments in a hurry due to pressures here so some of the assignments were not upto the standard of i-to-i so they were sent back with some helpful remarks and reminders for which I am very thankful. Teaching now has a whole lot of new meaning to me and is much more satisfying.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jake Sen
    June 13, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I really enjoyed this course and it was fascinating in all aspects. I learnt loads about teaching and specifics The feedback on assignments was quick and helpful. The only improvement I would suggest would to be have actual classroom practise as some schools look down on the qualification as a result.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Bobbie Booyse
    June 7, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I enjoyed my course, but wished my 20 hours practical was at an actual school, instead of a boardroom..but the theory was good, and goal directed. I enjoyed the course, and would recommend it.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Charmaine Schoeman
    June 6, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I have been so impressed with the guidance and content of the Professional TEFL course and honestly would recommend it to anyone! The help I originally got as well as my many concerns regarding work opportunities in China ( I am not that young!) were so professionally dealt with and I am getting to the point where I feel ‘addicted’ to the online course! My checkpoint was so speedily marked and feedback given! I feel this course really prepares the FL teacher and as I am a teacher already, I can vouch for the accuracy and advise first hand!
    Well done i-i TEFL!!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Bill Horrocks
    June 6, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I took up the course initially out of interest. I am a trained secondary English teacher with a Grad Dip in Early Childhood Literacy and have always had a hankering to do some ESL teaching. I love reading about the English language particularly debates about grammar. I was amazed at the way grammar is treated. It is so different from the way I taught it to my Australian students. In essence, I didn’t really teach it as grammar, but encouraged kids to read widely and then write with my role being for them to analyse their work critically themselves according to set criteria. I loved the way you approached grammar teaching by defining structures and then showing how to put them into practice.
    I enjoyed the set assignments, finding them challenging and relevant according to the course outlines. I must admit I found the non-assessable bits frustrating particularly as the early questions were based on semi-cloze work with the first letters of answers being provided and when I couldn’t find the answers! Things got better however after the first couple.
    The pronunciation sections were fascinating and challenging as were the assignment questions. This is the area I would like to do more work on.
    I haven’t applied for any jobs yet, feeling I need more work particularly in face-to-face teaching and more critiquing of my performance. I will apply for more courses when I have time to devote to them.
    Congratulations on the course structure and the encouragement you gave as I laboured away in the solitude of my home office.
    Please ignore my rating for job placement as I haven’t tried to use it.
    (My computer wouldn’t remove the one-star rating).

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Duvendra Naidoo
    June 6, 2015 at 12:00 am

    Fulfillment, that is what I felt after completing the course. I completed my i-to-i TEFL course a few weeks ago. This course thought me a lot about myself, things that I thought I knew and even introduced me to concepts that really made me think out of the box. The amount of effort that goes into giving detailed feedback about the assignments was encouraging and awesome. The course material was fairly simple to understand. I am currently in the process of looking for a job abroad. I would really recommend this course to anyone looking to not just feel fulfilled and travel the world but also add value to those you meet in the classroom.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Lorna Melia
    May 30, 2015 at 12:00 am

    The entire TEFL company that I have been in contact with is incredibly helpful and the course was simple and easy to understand. The customer service is impeccable and I really appreciate the care and contact I’ve had while applying for my internship. I’d absolutely recommend TEFL to anyone.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Nate
    May 30, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I just completed the i-to-i 120 hour course (4/26/15), and I can say it has already helped me in the classroom and given me ideas for teaching in the future. It has also helped me to secure a ESL teaching position at a public school in Korea.From my perspective this is a good course. I knew what I was enrolling in from the beginning, and it met my expectations. Whether this course will be good for others, depends on their reasons for taking it.I enrolled in the course after having already taught ESL for a year in a hagwon (학원) in Korea. I had no teaching experience prior to coming to Korea, and it showed (at least to myself) in the classroom. After the first couple months, I improved as a teacher and continued to improve as the year went on. I wanted to continue teaching after that first year, but I wanted to be better for the sake of my students. I knew that the CELTA and the Trinity CertTesol were better qualifications to have, but I just wanted information and examples on how to be a better teacher. I had already had experienced teachers critique me and suggest ways to improve, so I didn’t need an expensive course.Having never taken them, I can’t speak to the quality of the CELTA or Trinity CertTesol, but if your goal is to just go teach ESL for a year, they seem unnecessary. For that purpose I would highly recommend the i-to-i 120 hour course to help you be a well prepared, albeit inexperienced in the classroom, ESL teacher. IF you want to teach ESL at a public school in Korea, my understanding is that, starting in 2016, they will require a certificate that involves the observed teaching practice. So keep that in mind.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Anna
    May 30, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I have enjoyed the course thoroughly. I have not used the internship placements therefore can not rate this part justly.
    I have however tried to teach with this certificate on my own, applying in Thailand and Spain, on the spot.
    There is a point on which I have had no success at all for most schools in both countries, and that was not even judged on my ability to teach (which I have an experience of 4 years on my own account), but the fact that I do not possess an Native English PASSPORT.
    I still have found more work than I would have without it, therefore the investment of time was completely worth it.
    To the Best of Travels to ALL!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Corey J
    May 30, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I signed up for the China August 2015 Internship and completed my TEFL certificate/course back in Feb 2015. TEFL’ing is an amazing experience. It really puts things in perspective how much children and people all over the world need our help in learning English. You may not understand, but English is becoming more of a requirement in the job market and to help those who are interested in learning, is a rewarding experience itself. I found the course very user friendly, the content was properly introduced and the constructive criticism from assignments really helped me understand how to teach and what to expect. Anyone who is thinking of doing the TEFL course, I highly recommend it.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • John
    May 30, 2015 at 12:00 am

    Before signing up for the i to i course I looked at other possible courses available that would suit my needs and fit in with my schedule. Having decided that this was the way to go it was six months before I officially signed up for the 140 hr course, which to my surprise at the time, the course had been revamped, I was a little skeptical at first, particularly as this was an on line course and wondered if it would still meet my needs. I rang the i to i office in the UK (using the 1300 number so only a local call if it was going to be charged to me). I spoke to a customer representative who was very helpful and whom had already completed the course so was able to provided me with all the detail I needed to make my decision. If you are unsure about the course suggest you do the same, The i to i customer service are very professional and gave me confidence about my investment into this course.
    For my part in order to give the course a fair go, I took three weeks of work to complete the course on line, I scheduled my time so I could have some relaxing time too, went for a bike ride or a walk each day. Hours per day varied depending on which part of the course I was in. I found the units were in suitable chucks to have a break between. Having the online self assessment with a required 80% pass before being allowed to attempt the major assignment is a great idea as it does allow you to review the course content and highlight some points that you had not picked up on the way through.
    Being only able to have three attempts at the major assignment in my mind provides Credibility to the course. It’s worth spending some time on these major tasks as you can use the material later in your resume and some of the material can also be used in perpetration when you start to teach.
    At the end of the day what you get out of the course depends on what you put in.
    I found the course content to be very up to date and relevant in a practical sense. There are units on how to find a job and one about culture differences these were added bonus as far as I was concerned and provided that little extra , real value for money. All assessments were marked within a 24 hr period of sending them off to be marked and came back with quality feedback.
    The face to face is 20hrs and its an intro to teaching giving you the opportunity to try things out in a guided situation. Its fun and enjoyable, the others in the group having the same goal in mind add tremendous overall value. The tutors have a vast experience in this area again this provides value for money.
    If this course aligns with your required outcomes, then this is the course for you. That said there is lots of take always regardless of your purpose for undertaking this course. I have found there are many ways that you may use the take always and experience gained. I have had three job offers already and have negotiated to take up one in 2016. In the mean time I now undertaken the business unit and started to put this to use already I have started a small business teaching overseas students with some English how to operate in a restaurant and add value to the customer service they provide. Its working out very well at this time, I been able to use the skills that I have pick up throughout the course to enhance my ability to deliver this type of course. I have also have some other ideas that I am exploring as a result. The point is that the skills from this course are adaptable to many other things in life and give you plenty of flexibility to various pathways. Recommend highly the i to I course, but make sure you are motivated so you maximize the outcomes for your self. My Thanks to the i to i team keep up the good work.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Peter
    May 22, 2015 at 12:00 am

    A very good course. It has opened up not only opportunities in TEFL but other avenues as well. I appreciate the respect that it has brought me as a qualification.I did the 140 hour course and don’t regret it in the least. I have already recommended it to some friends. I also still keep in contact with the frinds I made during the course.This was a life changer for me. Not maybe in exactly the way I expected at the time. However totally positive.A big thumbs up from me.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

  • Gavin Alston
    May 20, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I have thoroughly enjoyed my course online and always felt supported whenever I needed either technical support or to ask questions.The course is very comprehensive and challenging and pitched and paced just right.Thank you

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Inge
    May 19, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I have had a positive experience from the various i to i TEFL courses I have completed. The TEFL team were always happy to help and were diligent with response time if you had any inquires. The courses were approachable, relevant and fun. I recommend i to i TEFL course as because it will give you a valuable and world recognizable TEFL certification that will assist you in finding your dream ESL job.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Barbara Stroud
    May 16, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I thouroughly enjoyed doing this course! It was a real challenge for me, but one within reach of overcoming! I battled with the lesson planning section as some of the instructions were not clearly set out, but once I understood what was needed I sailed through it! I also completed the Advanced Grammar Course. I think that was my personal favorite. Thank you i-to-i for all the hours of support, email assistance and motivating that you gave me throughout my course. I am now ready to do the one-on-on course with you next! Kind Regards, Barbara

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Elizabeth Clement
    May 8, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I took the 140 hour course with i-to-i TEFL. I enjoyed the course and found the materials extensive. I particularly enjoyed completing the specialist modules, such as ‘Teaching with Audio Visual Resources’. I found the content interesting and the feedback to be detailed and prompt. The Classroom Course was intensive but fun- I certainly felt more confident about my teaching ability by day 2. One recommendation for improvement would be more guidance before the course is undertaken, particularly around time management and other commitments; it has taken me over a year to complete the course (with a 6 month break) due to other time pressures. I didn’t initially realise how time-intensive the course was. The course could also include a heavier teaching practice element- I felt that much of the content could be absorbed if you took your time and used the available materials, however, for those individuals like myself with limited teaching practice, more of a focus on this would be useful. Overall a good experience which I’m hoping to put to use in the near future!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Henry
    May 7, 2015 at 12:00 am

    For a short course, these hours were priceless. It was very intense to be honest, but well worth while doing. The I to I leader was very helpful with everything we did. Anything you need to find out they assisted you. Excellent service! Although it could have had more teaching practice, such as two a day instead of one.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Stephen Smith
    May 4, 2015 at 12:00 am

    Hi there,I was really impressed with the practical course held in Cape Town. The venue was excellent and the intructor was very good. We were given lots of opportunities to work in groups and learn practical tools to teach a class. We were also given very good feedback when we had to perform tasks and our lessons.Overall, I really enjoyed the course and thought it was extremely helpful.Thank you.Kind Regards,Stephen Smith

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Charlene
    May 4, 2015 at 12:00 am

    3 simple words: exceeded my expectations! I’ve been wanting to take the TEFL course for ages. I-to-I met my wants and needs. If you want a convenient course from the comfort of your home, yet with sufficient practice physically in a classroom, there you go, you’ve got all! I took the combination course, including the teaching practice weekend, the latter of which was quite intense but nonetheless brilliant. The way our tutor showed us how practical the techniques can be and by giving us the opportunity to practice this as students to see how that feels from the other end, was absolutely brilliant!If you have no time for the practical weekend and you’d still like some interaction with other students, get yourself in the live webinars twice a week. These are added bonuses to the proper course that is quite easy flowing and with constructive feedback after every checkpoint test.One tip: take loads of notes! You’ll find them useful later in your teaching career. I’d recommend I-to-I to anyone, I think it has a bit of everything for everyone. Enjoy!

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Stephanie Miller
    May 3, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I have completed the 140 hour Tefl course. I found the course to be very informative and has allowed me to see ways to see the world why I teach. Having completed a degree that I want to use but haven’t found the right direction, having then studied the TEFL course I feel now I see a way to use my degree as well as teach non native speakers this amazing language that will help them go further in their own lives.
    The course also outlined how practical and easy it is to teach.
    The weekend part of the 140 hours really gave me those final skills of how to teach this language to students.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Jane
    May 2, 2015 at 12:00 am

    Would really recommend I-to-I, really attentive if you have any problems and are so keen to help. The way the course is layer out is really clear and the content is all relevant. The way the course is divided means that what you learn in part A is actually kind of re-enforced in part B of the course. So by the time you’re finished the online course and the practice course you will feel confident enough to teach in a class. Was so nervous for the practice part of the course and to be honest now that I’ve done it it was my favourite bit – met some great people and our instructor aisling was one of the best teachers ive ever come across. Learned so much and I think it gave the whole class confidence to really teach in real life.
    Thank you I-to-I, it’s been a great experience so far .

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Terri Miller
    May 2, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I was unsure as to whether I would be able to learn from an online course but the structure and content of the online units surprised me and I enjoyed the course. I felt that overall the online material facilitated learning and gave good practical information as well as the academic component for the level a beginner TEFL teacher will need.The practical course, which I attended last weekend in Auckland exceeded my expectations. The tutor and the content were both excellent.
    I would like to point out that the feedback for the checkpoints could have been less generalized, as sometimes the comments that I received could have easily been ‘cut and paste’ from those of my husband and daughters work as they were doing the course at the same time.
    However, I have found the whole course of value and good quality and will be purchasing more units to upskill as part of my preparation to teach overseas.
    My biggest concern is that the whole I-to-i concept seems aimed at the younger generation and most of the information about employment says that you have to be younger than I ( I am over 55) to have any hope of a job in many of the countries, including Thailand, which is one of my target countries when I am ready to get going. I am highly motivated to implement this learning and am fearful that I will have wasted my time studying the course as I will not be able to get a visa or a job in a country that interests me.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Facilities and Resources

  • Elma Birchall
    May 2, 2015 at 12:00 am

    Having read the reviews above, I can recognise that i-to-i TEFL may not suit those students who have never actually taught before because, as mentioned there was no actual teaching practice that included real students. However, this course did suit my purpose since I have been teaching since 1998. It taught me the different techniques that can be used when faced with students who do not speak any English. Another valuable part was that throughout the 20 hours the teacher did not rely on information technology but used realia, visuals and herself as examples of how to teach. I was most impressed by the use of body language and signs to use in getting the message across. Lesson plans were very well explained, which included warmers, lead ins, eliciting information how to maximise student talking time and minimise teacher taking time, how to use gap fillers and ask concept questions throughout the lesson, drilling, reviewing and recap. The teacher did give feedback on our delivery of lessons to the group, which I found very useful and was a wealth of information during the whole weekend. A hand-out was send out later for us to review everything that we had covered. Overall I think the course was a good sound grounding for anyone wanting to teach.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Richard Carroll
    May 2, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I am happy with the course overall, particularly the practical aspect over the two day period. The webinars are very useful as a record and more of them would be very welcome. The feedback from the online tutors is very good and the checkpoint and review points are an effective way of understanding the course.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Lena
    May 1, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I did the 140-hours TEFL cert and found it to be extremely useful. The course was designed in a really helpful way, with all the information needed just at your fingertips. I thought I’d have problems with understanding all that material but found it extremely easy. There was no unnecessary information but the building bones of every topic, plus links to extra resources in case you wanted to learn more. I also attended a two day practical course in Dublin and was delighted with it. The tutor was extremely competent and knew how to pass on all the necessary skills to her students. I would definitely recommend the 140-hours course to anyone thinking of getting TEFL-certified, as it’s well worth the money.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

  • Donnae Godley
    April 28, 2015 at 12:00 am

    I can highly recommend the i-to-i TEFL online course. It provided me with the knowledge, skills and competence to confidently be a TEFL teacher. The course is dynamic, interesting and challenging with relevant and excellent feedback given every step of the way. Each module has links to resources that add depth and interest to the course which is well thought out and comprehensive. I would encourage any student wishing to do a TEFL course to seriously consider i-to-i TEFL as it a fantastic qualification to have from a dedicated institution.

    Overall Rating

    Course Content

    Practice Teaching

    Quality of Feedback

    Lesson Plan Guidance

    Instructor Competency

    Job Placement

    Facilities and Resources

Add a review